LibGuides: Women's History @ SWIC Library: Home

What's Happening @SWIC Library!

SWIC Library joins with the campus community in celebrating diversity!

This month, the Library's Books on Parade presents HER-story, a celebration of women's history, honoring and acknowledging the contributions of women as innovators, writers, scientists, artists, intellects, activists, social reformers and more!

Our display features the ACTIONS of women. Women vote, work, rise up, stand up, express, play sports, fight, rule, tell and inspire!
Browse a sampling of our books BELOW and in the TABS outlined to the left.
Library Pick-Up Service: Watch this QUICK VIDEO on how to place a book request. Once requested, library staff will pull your item from the shelf and email you that it's ready for pick up at the library's front desk. You will need your SWIC ID to check items out of the library. The typical loan period for library items is 4 weeks. See our current library hours.
Finally, be sure to scroll down the page for a curated list of great web resources for interesting Facts and Figures; Art & Design; Government, Politics & Law; Women's Rights & Suffrage; History Exhibitions & Collections; Women & Sports; Science & Innovation; Historic Places; Women & War; and the Performing Arts.

Browse and Request Books @ SWIC Library

History of International Women's Day - March 8

Because of HER STORY Women’s contributions to America are largely missing from the traditional American history narrative. Representation matters. Dig in and be inspired. Explore by theme.

Web Resources

Art & Design

Resources

American Women Artists This is a small sampling of women artists and their works in the vast visual arts collections of the Smithsonian.
American Women Photographers Women working as photographic documentarians and artists have been an important part of photographic history since its inception. Women phot Women’s Forum for the Economy & Society
Because of Her Story - Art & Design - Smithsonian Women’s creativity has impacted the art world, and the world at large, by challenging viewers to see the beauty and injustice of the world from their perspective.
National Museum of Women of the Arts The National Museum of Women in the Arts is the only major museum in the world solely dedicated to championing women through the arts.

Exhibits and Collections

Drawn to Purpose: American Women Illustrators and Cartoonists American Women Illustrators and Cartoonists
Frances Benjamin Johnston Collection: Photographer Frances Benjamin Johnston was one of the first American women to achieve prominence as a photographer.
Humor's Edge: Cartoons by Ann Telnaes In 2001 Ann Telnaes became the second woman ever to win the Pulitzer Prize for editorial cartooning. One of the few women in this highly competitive field, Telnaes creates some of today's boldest political cartoons.
Julia Margaret Cameron: Photographer Expressive portrait photographer during the Victorian age.
Joy Harjo, U.S. Poet Laureate: A Resources Guide On June 19, 2019, Librarian of Congress Carla Hayden announced the appointment of Joy Harjo as the 23rd Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry.
Quilts and Quiltmaking in America, 1978 to 1996 Contains 181 segments from recorded interviews with quiltmakers and 410 graphic images from two collections in the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress: the Blue Ridge Parkway Folklife Project Collection and the Lands' End All-American Quilt Contest Collection.

Facts & Figures

The World's Women 2020 - Trends and Statistics The World’s Women 2020: Trends and Statistics online portal is the result of the collective effort of a wide range of contributors from around the world, under the leadership of the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD), Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA).
Women's Bureau - Data and Statistics The Women’s Bureau was established in the U.S. Department of Labor on June 5, 1920, by Public Law No. 66-259. The Women’s Bureau is the only federal agency mandated to represent the needs of wage-earning women in the public policy process.
WomanStats The WomanStats Project began in 2001 with the aim of investigating the link between the security and behavior of states and the situation and security of the women within them.

Government, Politics & Law

Resources

Timeline of Women U.S. Senators To date, 58 women have served in the United States Senate, with 24 serving at this time (indicated in bold print below).
Women of the Senate To commemorate the centennial of the Woman Suffrage Amendment, ratified on August 18, 1920, and to acknowledge the service of the first woman senator in 1922, we celebrate the important and evolving role of the Women of the Senate.

Exhibits and Collections

100th Anniversary of Jeannette Rankin becoming First Congresswoman 2017 marks the centennial of the swearing-in of the first woman to become a member of the U.S. Congress, Jeannette Rankin (R-Montana).
Belva Lockwood: Blazing the Trail for Women in Law Belva Lockwood was an American attorney, politician, educator, and author. She was active in working for women's rights, including women's suffrage. Lockwood overcame many social and personal obstacles related to gender restrictions. After college, she became a teacher and principal, working to equalize pay for women in education.[1] She supported the movement for world peace, and was a proponent of the Temperance movement.
Eleanor Roosevelt and the United Nations U.S. National Archives shares information about Eleanor Roosevelt and the United Nations.
The Hannah Arendt Papers The papers of the author, educator, and political philosopher Hannah Arendt (1906-1975) are one of the principal sources for the study of modern intellectual life.
Women and Naturalization: 1802–1940 In general, immigrant women, such as these arrivals at Ellis Island, have always had the right to become U.S. citizens, but a succession of laws in the nineteenth century worked to keep certain women out of the naturalization process.
Women in History: Lawyers and Judges Discover who the first women lawyers and judges were in different countries.
Women in History: Elected Representatives Highlighting women who have been elected to national legislatures and as the leaders of different countries.

Historic Places

Resources

Placing Women in the Past Special issue of Cultural Resource Management that reflects the effect women's history scholarship has had throughout the field of historic preservation.
Explore Where Women Made History Discover 1,000+ places where American women have left their mark.
National Register of Historic Places celebrates Women's History Month The National Register of Historic Places lists many properties significant for women's history. We take the opportunity of Women's History Month to highlight just some of the properties that exemplify the contributions of women to American history.
Trailblazing Women: National Historical Sites Honoring Women The National Park Service preserves important cultural and historic sites across our nation. Many of these interesting places honor the contributions women made to the country and discuss the challenges they’ve faced on their march to equality.
Travel Where Women Made History Use the “Travel Where Women Made History” website to explore places and discover the accomplishments of many American women who made outstanding contributions to education, government, medicine, the arts, commerce, women's suffrage and the Civil Rights Movement. Travel and explore the places where women made history!

Exhibits and Collections

Belmont-Paul Women's Equality National Monument Home to the National Woman's Party for more than 90 years, this was the epicenter of the struggle for women's rights.
Clara Barton National Historic Site Clara Barton dedicated her life and energies to help others in times of need - both home and abroad, in peacetime as well as during military emergencies. Glen Echo was her home the last 15 years of her life and the structure illustrates her dedication and concern for those less fortunate than herself.
Eleanor Roosevelt National Historic Site Visit the home of Eleanor Roosevelt. Here, Franklin and Eleanor entertained friends, state visitors, the press, and their associates in the tranquil and relaxed atmosphere of Val-Kill. Explore the Roosevelt saga in the homes of Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt, the exhibits at the nation’s first Presidential Library, and over a thousand acres of gardens and trails.
First Ladies National Historic Site First Ladies National Historic Site consists of two properties in downtown Canton, Ohio - the home of First Lady Ida Saxton-McKinley and a small visitor center with an exhibit and film. Come learn about how the position of First Lady has evolved over time to include a public role.
Harriett Tubman National Historical Park The Harriet Tubman National Historical Park includes the Thompson Memorial African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church that Tubman raised funds to build and where you can walk the grounds. The Harriet Tubman Visitor Center, the Tubman Home for the Aged, and the Harriet Tubman Residence are also part of the park and sit on a roughly 32-acre campus on South Street. These three sites are operated by National Park Service partner, The Harriet Tubman Home, Inc.
Harriett Tubman Underground Railroad National Historical Park Bird calls, freshly plowed fields, and the hum of mosquitoes recall the landscape that shaped Harriet Tubman’s life as an enslaved child, young woman, and freedom seeker. The Harriet Tubman Underground Railroad National Monument and National Historical Park preserve these characteristics in her early home of Dorchester, Talbot, and Caroline Counties on Maryland’s Eastern Shore.
Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site Maggie Lena Walker devoted her life to civil rights advancement, economic empowerment, and educational opportunities for Jim Crow-era African Americans and women. As a bank president, newspaper editor, and fraternal leader, Walker served as an inspiration of pride and progress. Today, Walker’s home is preserved as a tribute to her enduring legacy of vision, courage, and determination.
The Mary McLeod Bethune Council House National Historic Site Mary McLeod Bethune achieved her greatest recognition at the Washington, DC townhouse that is now this National Historic Site. The Council House was the first headquarters of the National Council of Negro Women (NCNW) and was Bethune’s last home in Washington, DC. From here, Bethune and the NCNW spearheaded strategies and developed programs that advanced the interests of African American women.
Rosie the Riveter/World War II Homefront National Historical Park Explore and honor the efforts and sacrifices of American civilians on the World War II home front. Find out how they lived, worked and got along. Many faces, many stories, many truths weave a complex tapestry of myths and realities from this time of opportunity and loss.
Women Making History in Alaska Parks Whether a pioneer aviator or professional archeologist, women have made significant and enduring contributions to the history of both Alaska and its national parklands. The National Park Service’s Women in History Initiative celebrates stories of remarkable women, both past and present, who have helped shape the character of these great places.
Women's History and Cultural Landscapes Women's history in the United States is rich in texture, featuring both ordinary lives and extraordinary accomplishments. The stories found in national parks, from Massachusetts to Alaska, demonstrate that women have been active participants in the development of American society as political activists, intellectuals, innovators, entrepreneurs, laborers, and educators.
Women's Rights National Historical Park Women’s Rights National Historical Park tells the story of the first Women’s Rights Convention held in Seneca Falls, NY on July 19-20,1848. It is a story of struggles for civil rights, human rights, and equality, global struggles that continue today. The efforts of women’s rights leaders, abolitionists, and other 19th century reformers remind us that all people must be accepted as equals.

History

Resources

Because of HER STORY Women’s contributions to America are largely missing from the traditional American history narrative. Representation matters. Dig in, be inspired and explore by theme.
National Women's History Museum Our mission is to tell the stories of women who transformed our nation. We will do that through a growing state-of-the-art online presence and a future physical museum to educate, inspire, empower, shape the future, and provide a complete view of American history.
Telling All Americans' Stories: Women's History The National Park Service Presents Women's history! Their history is full of amazing stories of both ordinary and extraordinary people. Instead of revealing a singular "womanhood," women's history makes the diversity of the American experience more visible. While women often faced social constraints and could be restricted by conventional ideas about gender roles, the realities of women's lives have never been neatly confined to the "domestic" spaces of the home. They have been active participants in American society—as political activists, intellectuals, innovators, entrepreneurs, laborers, and educators.
The National Archives: Women The struggle for women to gain acceptance, recognition and equal rights in society has been a long process. In recognition of the contributions of American women, Archives Library Information Center presents a listing of web sites relevant to women in the United States.
Women's History Month The Library of Congress, National Archives and Records Administration, National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution and United States Holocaust Memorial Museum join in commemorating and encouraging the study, observance and celebration of the vital role of women in American history.
Women's History Topic Page WorldCat.org is an international library catalog that locates unique, trustworthy materials in libraries worldwide.

Exhibits and Collections

Bernice Johnson Reagon: Civil Rights song leader Bernice Johnson Reagon, singer, song leader, civil rights activist, and scholar, is a profound contributor to African American culture.
Bev Grant: My Story Bev Grant is a veteran social activist, feminist, and labor singer-songwriter.
Biographies: National Women's History Museum Women have always played an active role in history. Explore some of the historical pioneers and contemporary newsmakers that continue to impact the world.
The Clara Barton Collection An educator and humanitarian, Clarissa “Clara” Harlowe Barton helped distribute needed supplies to the Union Army during the Civil War and later founded the disaster relief organization, the American Red Cross.
A Collection of Women's History through Photos and Documents The National Archive presents a collection of women's history through photos and documents on Flickr.
College Women: Documenting the History of Women in Higher Education College Women is a searchable portal of diaries, letters, scrapbooks and photographs from the archives of a select group of the earliest women’s colleges in the United States.
Black Woman's Economic Power: Visualizing Domestic Spaces in the 1830s This exhibit highlights the contributions of local boarding house hosts and hostesses who provided comfortable spaces for delegates of the 1830s conventions and helped turn their community into a rich hub for activism. It also acknowledges the obscured efforts of women whose livelihoods aided in fostering Black economic mobility—one of the aims of the conventions.
Dolley Madison: America's First Lady Dolley Madison earned a reputation as skillful diplomat, humanitarian, style icon, and politically savvy hostess. She defined the role of the President's wife and became, in effect, America's first First Lady, and in the process changed the face of the American presidency.
Eleanor Roosevelt Papers Project As First Lady, journalist, activist, diplomat, Democratic Party leader, and public speaker, ER helped shape not only the United States but also the United Nations and the path we still follow toward the greater protection of human rights. The project is working to publish both digital and print editions of Eleanor Roosevelt's political papers.
Portraits of Nineteenth Century African American Women Activists William Henry Richards’ collection includes portraits of people who joined him and others working in the suffrage and temperance movements and in education, journalism and the arts. Among them were women who were in the public eye, active in a variety of professions and causes.
Rosa Parks in Her Own Words Rosa Parks (1913–2005) is best known for her refusal to give up her seat to a white man on a crowded bus in Montgomery, Alabama, on December 1, 1955. Rosa Parks: In Her Own Words showcases rarely seen materials that offer an intimate view of Rosa Parks and documents her life and activism—creating a rich opportunity for viewers to discover new dimensions to their understanding of this seminal figure.
Women's History Topics in Historic American Newspapers View historical newspaper articles from topics of the time.

Performing Arts

Exhibits and Collections

Chamber Music: The Life and Legacy of Elizabeth Sprague Coolidge Elizabeth Sprague Coolidge was an American pianist and patron of music, especially of chamber music.
Danny Kaye and Sylvia Fine Exhibition This exhibition explores the many talents of the powerful entertainment duo Danny Kaye (1911–1987) and Sylvia Fine (1913–1991), both raised in Brooklyn, New York. Kaye’s career as an entertainer spanned six decades and encompassed nearly every aspect of the performing arts. He had the perfect partner in his wife, Fine, who not only wrote the music and lyrics of hundreds of songs tailored specifically to Kaye’s talents but also produced many of his eclectic engagements and brilliantly managed his career.
Dolly Parton and the Roots of Country Music This presentation explores the influences of country music on Dolly's life and career. Though sometimes overshadowed by the more glamorous aspects of Dolly Parton's popular image, traditional Appalachian folk, country, and bluegrass music have played an important role in her life, to a much greater extent than one might imagine from looking at the bulk of her career.
Elizabeth Cotten: Master of American Folk Music Elizabeth "Libba" Cotten (1895-1987), best known for her timeless song "Freight Train," built her musical legacy on a firm foundation of late 19th- and early 20th-century African-American instrumental traditions.
Heartbeat: The Voices of First Nations Women Very little is known and appreciated about Native American women's voices and songs, even among those who are familiar with Native American music. Most Native women's traditional singing takes place in the private, domestic settings associated with family, clan, ceremonial, or work activities. Native women's musical traditions—and the Native women themselves—are resilient. Many traditional songs remain in their original form, despite years of missionization, acculturation, and the "civilization" policies of the USA government.
I Love Lucy: An American Legend This exhibition explores the show's history through the Ball and Arnaz family scrapbooks as well as photographs, scripts, printed and manuscript music, and other documents from the Library of Congress.
The Katherine Dunham Collection This collection consists of moving image materials that document the extraordinary journey of a woman who changed the face of American modern dance.
Martha Graham Collection Dancer, choreographer, and company director Martha Graham (1894-1991) is considered one of the pioneering founders of American modern dance. In a career spanning over seven decades, Graham developed her own innovative technique and produced an impressive legacy of 181 choreographic works.
Singing Truth to Power: Barbara Dane's One-Woman Riot Barbara Dane is an American folk, blues, and jazz singer.
Women Breaking Musical Barriers Recordings by women fill the archives of Smithsonian Folkways, but we shouldn't take them for granted. Gender discrimination and gender segregation have posed considerable barriers to women's musical talent. Still, many women musicians around the world challenge traditionally held beliefs about gender and women's social status simply by playing a certain instrument or singing a certain song.
The Zora Neale Hurston Plays This collection present ten plays written by Hurston (1891-1960), author, anthropologist, and folklorist.

Science & Innovation

Resources

Association for Women in Science The Association for Women in Science (AWIS) was founded in 1971 at the annual Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB) meeting. The organization aims to combat job discrimination, lower pay, and professional isolation. The main issue areas that the modern Association addresses are fair compensation, work-life integration, attrition, and professional development.

Exhibits and Collections

The Untold History of Women in Science and Technology Learn about women in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM).
Women in Science: A Historical Perspective Learn about historical women in science and the ongoing struggle for recognition and representation faced by female scientists.
Women in Science: A Resource Guide This guide provides links to selected books, journal articles, historical works, and other resources on women in science.

Sports

Resources

Women's Sports Foundation Mission: We are the ally, advocate and catalyst for tomorrow's leaders. We exist to enable girls and women to reach their potential in sport and life.

Exhibits and Collections

Game Changers: National Women's History Museum This exhibit explores the cultural, economic, social and political barriers women have overcome to play sports and the challenges remaining today.
Getting Into the Games: Women and the Ollympics Explore Women's achievement in the sports and the Olympic Games.

Women & War

Resources

Center for Women Veteran’s The Center for Women Veterans was established by Congress in November 1994 by Public Law (P.L.) 103-446 to monitor and coordinate VA’s administration of health care and benefits services, and programs for women Veterans, to serve as an advocate for a cultural transformation (both within VA and in the general public) in recognizing the service and contributions of women Veterans and women in the military and to raise awareness of the responsibility to treat women Veterans with dignity and respect.
Women Veterans: Department of Labor The mission of the DOL VETS Women Veteran Program is to make statistical analyses and other research easily accessible in order to inform policy decisions and the national narrative on women veterans. This webpage serves as a repository of both statistical analysis conducted by the Women Veteran Program and links to applicable external research.

Exhibits and Collections

Civil War Nurse: Helen Louise Gilson Gilson was known to many as an "angel of mercy" for her work with the soldiers, both white and African American.
Female Yeomen during the First World War On March 19, 1917, the Bureau of Navigation sent letters to the commanders of the naval districts informing them they could recruit women into the Naval Coast Defense Reserve to be "utilized as radio operators, stenographers, nurses, messengers, chauffeurs, etc. and in many other capacities in the industrial line." The new enlisted women were able to become yeomen, electricians (radio operators), or any other ratings necessary to the naval district operations. The majority became yeomen and were designated as yeomen (F) for female yeomen.
Images Relating to American Women Workers During World War II The selected images were issued by the U.S. government or by commercial sources during World War II, often to encourage women to join the work force or to highlight other aspects of the war effort. Original titles and captions have been retained.
Military Medicine: Nurses No one in war has a purer mission than nurses. Even doctors must sometimes inflict pain for the better good of a patient, but a nurse is there only to soothe and comfort. The ideals that a nurse carries into any wartime hospital are challenged by the daily arrival of bodies broken in battle.
Revolutionary War: Looking for the real Molly Pitcher Historian Linda Grant De Pauw, whose studies have examined women's roles in the War for Independence, believes that Molly Pitcher is merely a persona created from numerous sources. However, there are some viable contenders for canonization as the real Molly Pitcher such as a young soldier's wife named Mary Ludwig Hayes.
Spanish-American War: Sister Nurses The Sisters of Mercy, Baltimore, served as nurses at Camp Thomas, Chickamauga Park, Georgia, during the Spanish-American War.
The US Food Administration, Women, and the Great War The United States Food Administration was created by an Act of Congress on August 10, 1917 to provide further for the national security and defense by encouraging the production, conserving the supply and controlling the distribution of food products. The Food Administration was a chiefly volunteer organization brought into being during World War I to assist in feeding Allied forces.
Wearing Lipstick to War: An American Woman in World War II England and France Elizabeth Richardson's story opens a window into World War II that enhances and shifts the usual tales of men, foxholes, and bombers.
Women Come to the Front: Journalists, Photographers, and Broadcasters During World War II The women featured in this exhibit were chosen because of the strength and variety of their collections in the Library of Congress. Like their colleagues, the women followed various paths to their wartime assignments.
Women of the Empire in War Time: In Honour of their Great Devotion and Self-Sacrifice Search inside this item in English: Downloads Women of the Empire in War Time: In Honour of their Great Devotion and Self-Sacrifice Description This book was published in London in 1916 by the Dominion of Canada News Company to celebrate the contributions and sacrifice of the women of the British Empire in support of the Allies during World War I.
Women Soldiers of the Civil War Both the Union and Confederate armies forbade the enlistment of women. Women soldiers of the Civil War therefore assumed masculine names, disguised themselves as men, and hid the fact they were female. Because they passed as men, it is impossible to know with any certainty how many women soldiers served in the Civil War.
The Women’s Land Army During World War II One of the least known aspects of World War II in the United States is the crucial role played by the many women who plowed the ground, planted the seeds, cultivated the plants, and harvested much of the nation's crops from 1942 through 1945.
World War II Home Front The Second World War created a homefront culture unlike any other in this nation’s history. There were soldiers, trained and primed to confront the enemy, who never got the call to go overseas. And there were homefront workers and wives who made their own sacrifices to winning the war.

Women's Rights & Women's Suffrage

Resources

Global Fund for Women Global Fund for Women’s approach focuses on winning rights for women, girls, and all historically marginalized people. Women’s human rights are essential to achieving gender justice globally.
Human Rights Watch: Women Human Rights Watch is working toward the realization of women’s empowerment and gender equality—protecting the rights and improving the lives of women and girls on the ground.
Office of Global Women’s Issues The Secretary’s Office of Global Women’s Issues has a mandate to promote the rights and empowerment of women and girls through U.S. foreign policy. Headed by an Ambassador-at-Large, the office leads the Department’s efforts to empower women and girls in U.S. diplomacy, partnerships, and programs.
PBS: American Experience- The Vote One hundred years after the passage of the 19th Amendment, The Vote tells the dramatic culmination story of the hard-fought campaign waged by American women for the right to vote — a transformative cultural and political movement that resulted in the largest expansion of voting rights in U.S. history.
Women's Rights: American Civil Liberties Union Through litigation, advocacy, and public education, the ACLU Women’s Rights Project pushes for change and systemic reform in institutions that perpetuate discrimination against women, focusing its work in the areas of employment, violence against women, and education.
Women's Rights: Amnesty International We look at the history of women’s rights, what women’s rights actually are, and what Amnesty is doing.

Exhibits and Collections

19th Amendment: National Archives The 19th Amendment guarantees American women the right to vote. Achieving this milestone required a lengthy and difficult struggle; victory took decades of agitation. Beginning in the mid-19th century, woman suffrage supporters lectured, wrote, marched, lobbied, and practiced civil disobedience to achieve what many Americans considered radical change.
America’s Newspapers Chronicle the Struggle for Women’s Rights The milestones in women’s history discussed here come from searches of newspapers available on Chronicling America.
Carrie Chapman Catt Papers The papers of suffragist, political strategist, and pacifist Carrie Lane Chapman Catt (1859-1947) span the years 1848-1950, with the bulk of the material dating from 1890 to 1920.
Elizabeth Cady Stanton Papers The papers of suffragist, reformer, and feminist theorist Elizabeth Cady Stanton (1815-1902) cover the years 1814 to 1946, with most of the material concentrated between 1840 and 1902.
Illinois Suffrage Illinois became the first state east of the Mississippi River to grant partial suffrage to women. Due to language in the state constitution, Illinois women still could not vote for members of Congress, Governor, or State Representatives. They continued to advocate for full suffrage within the state, while also joining the national suffrage movement in campaigning for an amendment to the U.S. Constitution.
In Her Own Right: Women Asserting Their Civil Rights, 1820-1920 Explore the story of women's activism through documents & images.
The Lasting Legacy of Suffragists at the Lorton Women's Workhouse In 1917, dozens of suffragists served time at the Lorton Workhouse after being arrested picketing the White House. They endured poor conditions and even violence. These activists publicized their experiences. The resulting public outrage helped to turn the tide toward the suffrage cause.
National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection The National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA) Collection is a library of nearly 800 books and pamphlets documenting the suffrage campaign that were collected between 1890 and 1938 by members of NAWSA and donated to the Rare Books Division of the Library of Congress on November 1, 1938.
The National Woman Suffrage Parade, 1913 On March 3, 1913, 5,000 women marched up Pennsylvania Avenue demanding the right to vote. Their “national procession,” staged the day before Woodrow Wilson’s presidential inauguration, was the first civil rights parade to use the nation’s capital as a backdrop, underscoring the national importance of their cause and women’s identity as American citizens.
Rightfully Hers: American Women and the Vote Rightfully Hers: American Women and the Vote highlights the relentless struggle of diverse activists throughout U.S. history to secure voting rights for all American women.
Sojourner Truth: A Resource Guide African-American activist and abolitionist, Sojourner Truth, was born into slavery but escaped to freedom in 1826. This guide provides access to Library of Congress digitized materials, links to external websites, and a selected print bibliography.
Susan B. Anthony Papers The papers of reformer and suffragist Susan B. Anthony (1820-1906) span the period 1846-1934 with the bulk of the material dating from 1846 to 1906.
Votes for Women: A Portrait of Persistence “Votes for Women: A Portrait of Persistence” will outline the more than 80-year movement for women to obtain the right to vote as part of the larger struggle for equality that continued through the 1965 Civil Rights Act and arguably lingers today.
Women in History: Global Voting Rights A look at women's voting rights in various countries.
Women of Protest: Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party This collection includes 448 digitized photographs selected from approximately 2,650 print photographs in the Records of the National Woman's Party, a collection of more than 438,000 items, housed in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress.
Women’s Suffrage: Pictures of Suffragists and their Activities The galleries in this guide include portraits of suffragists and images about the women's suffrage movement in the U.S., from the late 19th century through the ratification of the Nineteenth Amendment in 1920, from the Prints & Photographs Division.

Women's History @ SWIC Library

Celebrating since 1978

SWIC Librarian

SWIC Librarian

SWIC Librarian

What's Happening @SWIC Library!

This month, the Library's Books on Parade presents HER-story, a celebration of women's history, honoring and acknowledging the contributions of women as innovators, writers, scientists, artists, intellects, activists, social reformers and more!

Our display features the ACTIONS of women. Women vote, work, rise up, stand up, express, play sports, fight, rule, tell and inspire!

Browse a sampling of our books BELOW and in the TABS outlined to the left.

Browse and Request Books @ SWIC Library

History of International Women's Day - March 8

Web Resources