Women in Combat by Rosemarie SkaineThis handbook provides a straightforward account of how women have served in combat roles and explains the ongoing controversy surrounding efforts to legalize combat assignments for female service members. Women have been excluded from combat roles for most of American history. During conflicts such as the American Civil War, a few women enlisted as men; in some cases, their identities as women were not discovered until after their deaths. Today, the nontraditional battlefields of Iraq and Afghanistan have no clearly defined front lines, and many female soldiers have found themselves face-to-face with the enemy. Yet despite the realities of modern warfare, the subject of women serving in combat roles remains highly controversial. Women in Combat: A Reference Handbook examines the historical background, current dilemmas, and global context of this contentious issue. The author explores both sides of the argument, presenting information from leading sources and gleaned from personal interviews. Statistical data, primary source documents, a directory of organizations, and print and electronic resources offer additional insight. * Offers insights obtained from exclusive interviews with distinguished long-time female military officers, international scholars, and religious leaders * Contains relevant materials such as the 1988 Risk Rule, Soldier's Creed, Department of Defense ground combat policy, and USC 6015 * Includes biographical information on more than 25 women who have served or are serving in combat positions, as well as advocates and opponents of combat roles for women * Presents a chronology of significant events related to women in the military from 1775 to 2010 * Contains a bibliography of important materials to assist readers in further study of this controversial subject * Provides a glossary defining key military acronyms and terms
Call Number: UB418.W65 S563 2011
Publication Date: 2011-01-19
A Few Good Women by Evelyn Monahan; Rosemary Neidel-GreenleeThe never-before-told story of the United States women's military corps: the women who fought for the right to defend their country by serving in our armed forces with full military rank and benefits--a fight that continues today for American military women who want to serve in combat support positions and in frontline combat units. Using interviews, correspondence, and diaries, as well as archival material, Evelyn M. Monahan and Rosemary Neidel-Greenlee (coauthors of And If I Perish: Frontline U.S. Army Nurses in World War II) tell the remarkable story of America's few good women who today make up more than 15 percent of the U.S. armed forces and who serve alongside men in almost every capacity. Here are the stories of the battles these women fought in order to march beside their brothers; their tales of courage and fortitude; the indignities they've endured; the injustices they've overcome; the blood they've shed; the comrades they've lost; and the challenges they still face in the twenty-first century. United States military women have lived and continue to live the history that has helped to make and keep America what it is. Now their stories have been brought together in a riveting firsthand narrative, as inspiring as it is illuminating.
They Fought Like Demons by DeAnne Blanton; Lauren Cook WikePopular images of women during the American Civil War include self-sacrificing nurses, romantic spies, and brave ladies maintaining hearth and home in the absence of their men. However, as DeAnne Blanton and Lauren M. Cook show in their remarkable new study, that conventional picture does not tell the entire story. Hundreds of women assumed male aliases, disguised themselves in men?s uniforms, and charged into battle as Union and Confederate soldiers?facing down not only the guns of the adversary but also the gender prejudices of society. They Fought Like Demons is the first book to fully explore and explain these women, their experiences as combatants, and the controversial issues surrounding their military service. Relying on more than a decade of research in primary sources, Blanton and Cook document over 240 women in uniform and find that their reasons for fighting mirrored those of men?-patriotism, honor, heritage, and a desire for excitement. Some enlisted to remain with husbands or brothers, while others had dressed as men before the war. Some so enjoyed being freed from traditional women?s roles that they continued their masquerade well after 1865. The authors describe how Yankee and Rebel women soldiers eluded detection, some for many years, and even merited promotion. Their comrades often did not discover the deception until the ?young boy? in their company was wounded, killed, or gave birth. In addition to examining the details of everyday military life and the harsh challenges of -warfare for these women?which included injury, capture, and imprisonment?Blanton and Cook discuss the female warrior as an icon in nineteenth-century popular culture and why twentieth-century historians and society ignored women soldiers? contributions. Shattering the negative assumptions long held about Civil War distaff soldiers, this sophisticated and dynamic work sheds much-needed light on an unusual and overlooked facet of the Civil War experience.
Call Number: E 628 .B52 2002
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
To Serve My Country, to Serve My Race by Brenda L. MooreI would have climbed up a mountain to get on the list [to serve overseas]. We were going to do our duty. Despite all the bad things that happened, America was our home. This is where I was born. It was where my mother and father were. There was a feeling of wanting to do your part. --Gladys Carter, member of the 6888th To Serve My Country, to Serve my Race is the story of the historic 6888th, the first United States Women's Army Corps unit composed of African-American women to serve overseas. While African-American men and white women were invited, if belatedly, to serve their country abroad, African-American women were excluded for overseas duty throughout most of WWII. Under political pressure from legislators like Adam Clayton Powell, Jr., the NAACP, the black press, and even President Roosevelt, the U.S. War Department was forced to deploy African-American women to the European theater in 1945. African-American women, having succeeded, through their own activism and political ties, in their quest to shape their own lives, answered the call from all over the country, from every socioeconomic stratum. Stationed in France and England at the end of World War II, the 6888th brought together women like Mary Daniel Williams, a cook in the 6888th who signed up for the Army to escape the slums of Cleveland and to improve her ninth-grade education, and Margaret Barnes Jones, a public relations officer of the 6888th, who grew up in a comfortable household with a politically active mother who encouraged her to challenge the system. Despite the social, political, and economic restrictions imposed upon these African-American women in their own country, they were eager to serve, not only out of patriotism but out of a desire to uplift their race and dispell bigoted preconceptions about their abilities. Elaine Bennett, a First Sergeant in the 6888th, joined because "I wanted to prove to myself and maybe to the world that we would give what we had back to the United States as a confirmation that we were full- fledged citizens." Filled with compelling personal testimony based on extensive interviews, To Serve My Country is the first book to document the lives of these courageous pioneers. It reveals how their Army experience affected them for the rest of their lives and how they, in turn, transformed the U.S. military forever.
Call Number: UB 418 .A47 M66 1996
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
American Women and World War II by Doris L. WeatherfordThis social history focuses on the role American women played in the workforce during World War II. It describes the huge mobilization of labour necessary to supply US armed forces with machinery and weapons, and the evolution of women's roles in industry as a result of this.
Bring Me Men and Women by Judith H. StiehmWomen's integration into the military academies afforded an almost unique opportunity to study social change. It was a tidy, well-defined natural experiment. The Air Force Academy was willing to permit the kind of external scrutiny that afforded an objective account of the facts of the first year of integration. For sixteen months the academy allowed the author to interview freely and repeatedly all persons concerned with planning and implementing women's admission. Working as a historian (with individuals and documents rather than with questionnaires), Stiehm tells the report of this first year as fully and as accurately as possible.
Call Number: UG 638.5 .Q1 S74 1981
Publication Date: 1981-06-12
Women in the United States Armed Forces by Darlene M. IskraThis handbook provides the reader with an historical and contemporary overview of the service by women in all branches of the U.S. military, tracing the causes and effects of evolving policies, issues, structural barriers, and cultural challenges on the record and in the future of the accomplishments by women warriors. Women in the United States Armed Forces: A Guide to the Issues covers over a century of accomplishments of military women, from the Civil War to the current wars in the Middle East. Readers will learn, for example, that during World War II, 565 women in the Women's Army Corps stationed in the Pacific theater received combat decorations, proving that women had the courage, strength, and stamina to perform in a combat environment. They will also learn that, perhaps surprisingly, it wasn't until the mid- to late 1970s that women had their first opportunities to serve at sea and as aviators (crew as well as pilots), albeit on noncombatant ships and aircraft. The book's final four chapters discuss the issues that continue to plague women in the military, including sexual harassment, noting that women's performance in America's two-front wars in Iraq and Afghanistan have made a positive difference in attitudes. The handbook closes with an epilogue that is at once a summary of the issues and a call for action. * Includes results of a proprietary survey undertaken for this book * Offers a chronology of women's history to present day
Call Number: UB 418.W65 I85 2010
Publication Date: 2010-03-23
Soldier Girls by Helen ThorpeFrom an award-winning, "meticulously observant" (The New Yorker), and "masterful" (Booklist) writer comes a groundbreaking account of three women deployed to Afghanistan and Iraq, and how their military service affected their friendship, their personal lives, and their families. America has been continuously at war since the fall of 2001. This has been a matter of bitter political debate, of course, but what is uncontestable is that a sizeable percentage of American soldiers sent overseas in this era have been women. The experience in the American military is, it's safe to say, quite different from that of men. Surrounded and far outnumbered by men, imbedded in a male culture, looked upon as both alien and desirable, women have experiences of special interest. In Soldier Girls, Helen Thorpe follows the lives of three women over twelve years on their paths to the military, overseas to combat, and back home...and then overseas again for two of them. These women, who are quite different in every way, become friends, and we watch their interaction and also what happens when they are separated. We see their families, their lovers, their spouses, their children. We see them work extremely hard, deal with the attentions of men on base and in war zones, and struggle to stay connected to their families back home. We see some of them drink too much, have illicit affairs, and react to the deaths of fellow soldiers. And we see what happens to one of them when the truck she is driving hits an explosive in the road, blowing it up. She survives, but her life may never be the same again. Deeply reported, beautifully written, and powerfully moving, Soldier Girls is truly groundbreaking.
Call Number: UB 418 .W65 T56 2014
Publication Date: 2014-08-05
Glory in Their Spirit by Sandra M. BolzeniusBefore Rosa Parks and the March on Washington, four African American women risked their careers and freedom to defy the United States Army over segregation. Women Army Corps (WAC) privates Mary Green, Anna Morrison, Johnnie Murphy, and Alice Young enlisted to serve their country, improve their lives, and claim the privileges of citizenship long denied them. Promised a chance at training and skilled positions, they saw white WACs assigned to those better jobs and found themselves relegated to work as orderlies. In 1945, their strike alongside fifty other WACs captured the nation's attention and ignited passionate debates on racism, women in the military, and patriotism. Glory in Their Spirit presents the powerful story of their persistence and the public uproar that ensued. Newspapers chose sides. Civil rights activists coalesced to wield a new power. The military, meanwhile, found itself increasingly unable to justify its policies. In the end, Green, Morrison, Murphy, and Young chose court-martial over a return to menial duties. But their courage pushed the segregated military to the breaking point "and helped steer one of American's most powerful institutions onto a new road toward progress and justice.
Call Number: D 769.39 .B65 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-30
Nursing Civil Rights by Charissa J. ThreatIn Nursing Civil Rights, Charissa J. Threat investigates the parallel battles against occupational segregation by African American women and white men in the U.S. Army. As Threat reveals, both groups viewed their circumstances with the Army Nurse Corps as a civil rights matter. Each conducted separate integration campaigns to end the discrimination they suffered. Yet their stories defy the narrative that civil rights struggles inevitably arced toward social justice. Threat tells how progressive elements in the campaigns did indeed break down barriers in both military and civilian nursing. At the same time, she follows conservative threads to portray how some of the women who succeeded as agents of change became defenders of exclusionary practices when men sought military nursing careers. The ironic result was a struggle that simultaneously confronted and reaffirmed the social hierarchies that nurtured discrimination.
Call Number: UH 493 .T57 2015
Publication Date: 2015-03-27
Reminiscences of My Life in Camp by Susie King Taylor; Catherine Clinton (Foreword by)Near the end of her classic wartime account, Susie King Taylor writes, "there are many people who do not know what some of the colored women did during the war." For her own part, Taylor spent four years--without pay or formal training--nursing sick and wounded members of a black regiment of Union soldiers. In addition, she worked as a camp cook, laundress, and teacher. Written from a perspective unique in the literature of the Civil War, Reminiscences of My Life in Camp not only chronicles daily life on the battlefront but also records interactions between blacks and whites, men and women, and Northerners and Southerners during and after the war.Taylor tells of being born into slavery and of learning, in secret, to read and write. She describes maturing under her wartime responsibilities and traveling with the troops in South Carolina, Georgia, and Florida. After the war, Taylor dedicated herself to improving the lives of black Southerners and black Union Army veterans. The final chapters of Reminiscences are filled with depictions of the racism to which these efforts often exposed her. This volume reproduces the text of the original 1902 edition. Catherine Clinton's new introduction provides historical context for the events that form the backdrop of Taylor's memoir, as well as for the problems of race and gender it illuminates.
On Silver Wings by Marianne VergesTHEY WERE THE WOMEN WITH THE RIGHT STUFF. They were heroic women who came from every corner of the nation and every walk of life: debutantes, teachers, businesswomen, housewives, daughters of farmers, and factory workers. Almost two thousand of them were accepted into the rigorous Army Air Force flight training program and received their wings--flying with the desert sand in their eyes, with ice on their wings, serving side by side with men flyers. Yet for all their daring and commitment, the WASPs still had to battle red tape, jealous insinuations, and political pressure. Still, they flew on, often outclassing their male counterparts in efficiency, reliability, and physical stamina. Their story rings with all the courage, romance, and adventure of the lives these extraordinary women lived. "Verges brings to life the joy these women found in flying and the dawning realization that women deserved a place in the sky." --The Dallas Morning News "Verges gives us the pride, emotion, and struggle of America's first deployment of women aviators." --Brig. Gen. Wilma L. Vaught USAF (Retired) "Inspiring." --Publishers Weekly From the Paperback edition.