Australia is comprised of one country, Australia. While the continent of Australia is a single country, it encompasses parts of the island of New Guinea, including Papua New Guinea. Additionally, New Zealand is also considered part of Oceania and the Australian region.
Australian Aboriginal Kinship: An introductory handbook with particular emphasis on the Western Desert
by
This handbook brings the principles of human kinship in general, and Australian Aboriginal kinship in particular, closer to the reader in an understandable and pedagogic way. Aimed at a large public, including anthropologists, the handbook is divided into four parts: the historical and ethnographic background of important concepts such as 'culture', 'hunter-gatherer societies' etc.; the basic tools and notions needed to understand kinship (terminology, marriage, descent and filiation); an ethnographic analysis of the Australian Western Desert kinship and notions such as 'family', 'household' and 'domestic group'; a presentation of social organisation, in particular generational moieties, patri- and matrimoieties, sections and subsections. The concluding chapter discusses in a critical fashion the concept of kinship itself and elaborates on the idea of relatedness as a meaningful expansion.
From Longhouse to Village: Samo social change
by
Kapauku Papuans with Guinea of west New Guinea
by
Chapters: Economy. -- Social organization. -- Political organization. -- Ceremonial and spiritual life. -- Main characteristics of the Kapauku culture.
The Mardu Aborigines : Living the Dream in Australia's Desert
by
Characterized by a simple technology and a complex socioreligious system, the Mardudjara have survived with much of their traditional culture intact. The Mardu culture challenges common assumptions about the relation between technology and progress. This edition describes changes as the Mardu adapt to social, economic, and political realities.
The Sambia: ritual and gender in New Guinea
by
This cultural and psychological study of gender identity and sexual development in a New Guinea Highlands society includes initiation rites and socialization studies, and contrasts the Sambia with other societies, including our own. Sambia boys experience ritualized homosexuality before puberty and do not leave it until marriage, after which homosexual activity is prohibited. The implications are developed cross-culturally and contextualized in gender literature.
Simbu Law: conflict management in the New Guinea highlands
by
Chapters: Law and the disputing process -- Simbu culture and society -- Conflict management I: dyadic processes -- Conflict management II: triadic processes -- The social organization of conflict management -- The disputing process -- The role of goals in decision making and action.
Suburbia in the 21st Century
by
The majority of the world's population now live in urban areas and the 21st century has been declared as the "urban age". However, closer inspection of where people live in cities, especially within so-called advanced liberal democracies such as Australia, the United Kingdom and the United States, reveals that most people live in different types of suburban environments. Drawing together scholars from across the globe, this book provides a series of national, regional, and local case studies from Australia, Canada, Finland, France, Ireland, Spain, the United Kingdom, and the United States to exemplify the diverse and dynamic nature and importance of suburbia in 21st century urban studies, city-building, and urbanism. This book explores the evolving social, physical, and economic character of the suburbs and how structural processes, market dynamics, and government policies have shaped and transformed suburbia around the world. It highlights the continuing importance of the suburbs and the suburban dream, which lives on albeit under increasing challenges, such as the global financial crisis, structural racism, and the Covid-19 pandemic, which have given rise to various suburban nightmares.
Tiwi of North Austraila
by
This examination of the colorful Tiwi culture from the late 1920's to the 1980's provides a broad picture of cultural change and modernization in a hunting and food gathering tribe. The first half focuses on marriage contracts and their relationships to other aspects of Tiwi social structure, and the second half examines the Tiwis' response to modern influences.
The Trobrianders of Papua New Guinea
by
This re-examination of the Trobrianders of Papua New Guinea, the people described in Malinowski�s classic ethnographic work of the early 20th century, provides a balanced view of the society from a male and female perspective, including coverage of new discoveries about the importance of woman�s work and wealth in the society.
Wind turbine syndrome : a communicated disease
by
As governments around the world look for ways to curb fossil fuel emissions, more and more countries are adopting renewable energy sources. Wind power is one of the cheapest sources of renewable energy, and windfarms are often looked to as a solution. While generally welcomed in rural communities, there have been claims that wind turbines are responsible for a range of health problems. At last count an astonishing 247 symptoms had been attributed to wind turbines, from back pain and accelerated ageing to herpes and multiple sclerosis. Repeated reviews of the scientific evidence have found no grounds for these claims, yet they have continued to spread in some communities. Wind turbine syndrome shows all the hallmarks of a ‘communicated disease’: that is, an illness that is spread by people talking and writing about it. In short: people are worrying themselves sick. In Wind Turbine Syndrome: A Communicated Disease, Simon Chapman and Fiona Crichton explore the claims and tactics of the anti-windfarm movement, examine the scientific evidence, and consider how best to respond to anti-windfarm arguments.