LibGuides: Native American Heritage @ SWIC Library: Home

SWIC Library joins with the campus community in celebrating diversity!

November is designated as National Native American Heritage Month. During this observance the Library's displays commemorate the history, heritage, and culture of Native Americans and Alaskan Natives as well as acknowledge the vast achievements of America’s original indigenous people.

Use the TABS on the left

Browse the Gallery below

Take advantage of our Library Pick UP Service Watch this QUICK VIDEO on how to place a book request. Once requested, library staff will pull your item from the shelf and email you that it's ready for pick up at the library's front desk. You will need your SWIC ID to check items out of the library. The typical loan period for library items is 4 weeks. See our current library hours.

Finally, be sure to scroll down this page for a curated list of great Web Resources including Facts & Figures, History, Arts & Culture, Literature, Health & Medicine, Education, Legal Resources, Crime Prevention, Archaeology & Historic Preservation, and Native American Organizations.

Zabari-Obyoni Bell, Navajo Nation; Harvard University - Bacterial Genetics

Gallery of Books @ SWIC Library

Matika Wilbur's Project 562

Web Resources

Facts and Figures

American Indian and Alaska Native Heritage 2024 Data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Bureau of Indian Affairs' Tribal Leaders Directory Map-based, interactive directory of information on each federally recognized Indian Tribe, as well as a separate Excel spreadsheet with the names and contact information of current Tribal leaders, among other information.
My Tribal Area My Tribal Area gives you quick and easy access to selected statistics from the American Community Survey (ACS). The ACS provides detailed demographic, social, economic, and housing statistics every year for the nation's communities. My Tribal Area is powered by the Census Application Programming Interface (API).
Native American places National Park Service - highlights various publications, properties listed in the National Register, and National Parks that recognize the events and lifeways, the designs and achievements of American Indians.
U.S. Federal Register of Indian tribes The U.S. government officially recognizes nearly 600 Indian tribes in the contiguous 48 states and Alaska. These federally recognized tribes are eligible for funding and services from the Bureau of Indian Affairs, either directly or through contracts, grants, or compacts.

History

30 Stories for 30 Days - PBS PBS celebrates Native American and Alaska Native Heritage Month! Listen to the many creative people of Native American and Alaska Native heritage who carry on Indigenous traditions in a modern world. Each day in November will highlight an individual or group who tell their cultural stories via myriad different ways, from fashion to film to cuisine.
American history relating to Native Americans National Archives: Indians/Native Americans - contains links to American history relating to Native Americans.
American Indian Records Among the billions of historical records housed at the National Archives throughout the country, researchers can find information relating to American Indians from as early as 1774 through the mid 1990s.
Early Treaties Features historic treaties between the United States government and American Indian tribes.
First Nations A digital archive consisting of documents, books, and articles relating to the indigenous peoples. Some of the materials being added include treaties, tribal language dictionaries, early (pre-1923) books and articles, Bureau of Indian Affairs publications, Congressional hearings, and Bureau of American Ethnology publications.
Native American Boarding Schools Library of Congress, primary source sets
Native American newspapers Library of Congress - read Native American newspapers from the late 19th through the early 20th centuries.
Rights of Native Americans Rather than struggle for new liberties, Native Americans fought to preserve rights that they already possessed. This section from the National Archives Records of Rights includes stories about struggles for: Recognition of tribal sovereignty, Protection of land rights, and survival of indigenous culture.
Telling all American Stories: Indigenous Heritage From the National Park Service.
World War II Navajo Code Talkers The National Museum of the American Indian honors American Indian Code Talkers. This is a companion website to the traveling Smithsonian Institution exhibition, Native Words, Native Warriors.

Arts and Culture

National Museum of the American Indian

Online Exhibitions

Google Arts and Culture

Literature

American Indian Library Association: Youth Literature Awards Identifies and honors the very best writing and illustrations by Native Americans and Indigenous peoples of North America. Books selected to receive the award present Indigenous North American peoples in the fullness of their humanity. Categories include Best Picture Book, Best Middle Grade Book, and Best Young Adult Book.
Children’s & YA Books by Native Authors & Illustrators and Children’s and YA Books With Contemporary Native Themes From Muskogee Creek children’s author Cynthia L. Smith.
Native American Newspapers: Studying the History through the Eyes of the Community Chronicling America has within its collection fourteen Native American newspapers covering most of the end of the nineteenth century and the beginning of the twentieth. Each of the Native American newspapers has an “About the Newspaper” page showing the dates of publication, any succeeding titles and links to all of the front pages available through Chronicling America.

Health and Medicine

Indian Health Service The Indian Health Service, an agency within the Department of Health and Human Services , is responsible for providing federal health services to American Indians and Alaska Natives.
The National Indian Child Welfare Association (NICWA) Dedicated to the well-being of American Indian and Alaska Native children and families.
The National Indian Health Board (NIHB): Newsletters and Publications Represents Tribal governments—both those that operate their own health care delivery systems through contracting and compacting, and those receiving health care directly from the Indian Health Service (IHS).
Native Voices: Native Peoples concepts of health and illness Online exhibit from the National Library of Medicine that explores diverse Native Peoples’ concepts of health and illness, past and present.

Education

The American Indian Higher Education Consortium (AIHEC) Provides leadership and influences public policy on American Indian higher education issues through advocacy, research, and program initiatives; promotes and strengthens Indigenous languages, cultures, communities, and tribal nations; and through its unique position, serves member institutions and emerging Tribal Colleges and Universities (TCUs).
American Indian History (Teaching with Historic Places) Teaching with Historic Places (TwHP) uses historic places in National Parks and in the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places to enliven history, social studies, geography, civics, and other subjects. TwHP has created a variety of products and activities that help teachers bring historic places into the classroom. Here you’ll find place-based educational resources relating to American Indian history and culture.
National Indian Education Association Resources for educators, students, and advocates to learn about effective strategies, innovative programming, and professional learning opportunities aligned with creating a safe, successful and supportive learning environment.
Native Knowledge 360° (NK360°) Provides educators and students with new perspectives on Native American history and cultures. Created by Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian.
Teacher's Guide: American Indian History and Heritage EDSITEment is a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities and the National Trust for the Humanities. EDSITEment offers free resources for teachers, students, and parents searching for high-quality K-12 humanities education materials in the subject areas of history and social studies, literature and language arts, foreign languages, arts, and culture.

Legal Resources

Department of the Interior Native American Resources Compiles legal information on tribal governments, federal agencies and records.
National Indian Law Library A public law library devoted to federal Indian and tribal law. Maintains a unique and valuable collection of Indian law resources, assisting people with their Indian law-related research needs. Most popular resources include access to Indian Law Bulletins, Tribal Law Gateway, and a variety of Research Guides.
Native American Constitutions and Legal Materials - Law Library of Congress The Law Library holds most of the laws and constitutions from the early 19th century produced by the Cherokee, Choctaw, Chickasaw, Creek, and Seminole who were forced to leave the Southeast for the Indian Territory after passage of the Indian Removal Act in 1830. Some of these documents are in the vernacular languages of the tribes. This collection includes 19th century items and those constitutions and charters drafted after the 1934 Indian Reorganization Act.
Office of Tribal Justice U.S. Department of Justice office for Indian Tribes.
Policy on Indian Sovereignty and Government-to-Government Relations with Indian Tribes Recognizes the sovereign status of federally recognized Indian tribes as domestic dependent nations.
Senate Committee on Indian Affairs Handles laws about American Indians, Native Hawaiians, or Alaska Natives proposed by U.S. Senators.

Crime Prevention

Tribal and Alaskan Native Training Provides training to reduce crime on tribal lands.
Crime Prevention, Bureau of Indian Affairs Office of Justice Services law enforcement programs in Indian communities and on reservations.

Archaeology and Historic Preservation

Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act
National Park Service: Archaeology The National Park Service Archeology Program provides national leadership, coordination, and technical guidance on the preservation and protection of the nation’s archeological heritage.
Office of Native American Affairs The Office of Native American Affairs (ONAA), established in 1998, oversees the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation’s (ACHP’s) Native American initiatives.
National Association of Tribal Historic Preservation Officers (NATHPO) Founded in 1998, as a national non-profit membership organization of Tribal government officials who implement federal and tribal preservation laws. NATHPO’s overarching purpose is to support the preservation, maintenance, and revitalization of the culture and traditions of Native peoples of the United States.
Tribal Historic Preservation Program The program assists Indian tribes in preserving their historic properties and cultural traditions through the designation of Tribal Historic Preservation Offices (THPO) and through annual grant funding programs.

Native American Organizations

American Indian College Fund The American Indian College Fund provides scholarships and other support for American Indian students. The Fund disburses approximately 6,000 scholarships each year for American Indian students seeking to better their lives through higher education. The Fund also provides support for tribal college needs ranging from capital support to cultural preservation activities.
American Indian Higher Education Consortium The American Indian Higher Education Consortium is the collective spirit and unifying voice of our nation's 37 Tribal Colleges and Universities (TCUs)—a unique community of tribally and federally chartered institutions working to strengthen tribal nations and make a lasting difference in the lives of American Indians and Alaska Natives.
American Indian Library Association The American Indian Library Association is a membership action group that addresses the library-related needs of American Indians and Alaska Natives.
American Indian Science and Engineering Society (AISES) Founded in 1977, the American Indian Science and Engineering Society (AISES) is a national, nonprofit organization focused on substantially increasing the representation of American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, Pacific Islanders, First Nations and other indigenous peoples of North America in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) studies and careers. AISES has awarded over $11 million in academic scholarships to American Indian STEM students.
American Indigenous Business Leaders (AIBL) American Indigenous Business Leaders is a nonprofit organization designed to support and promote the education and development of future Native American leaders, while maintaining and incorporating cultural values.
Association of American Indian Affairs The AAIA has played an integral part in drafting a number of important laws, including the Indian Child Welfare Act, the Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act, and the Tribal Governmental Tax Status Act.
Association of Tribal Archives, Libraries and Museums ATALM is an international non-profit organization that maintains a network of support for indigenous programs, provides culturally relevant programming and services, encourages collaboration among tribal and non-tribal cultural institutions, and articulates contemporary issues related to developing and sustaining the cultural sovereignty of Native Nations.
National Alaska Native American Indian Nurses Association (NANAINA) The National Alaska Native American Indian Nurses Association’s mission is to promote a continuum of health among Native Americans; to serve the professional needs of Native American nurses; to cooperate with other professional associations, health care organizations and governmental entities in matters affecting the purposes of NANAINA; and to recommend culturally appropriate health-service delivery solutions where barriers to Native American consumers exist.
National Congress of American Indians Founded in 1944, the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) is the oldest, largest, and most representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the broad interests of tribal governments and communities.
National Indian Child Care Association The National Indian Child Care Association is a representative American Indian and Alaska Native organization serving the 266 tribal CCDF grantees that represent Tribal communities across the nation. Tribal child care and early childhood programs work hard to provide children, families, and communities with high quality child care services all across Indian Country.
National Indian Council on Aging The mission of NICOA is to advocate for improved comprehensive health, social services and economic well-being for American Indian and Alaska Native Elders. In addition to providing service through several grants from agencies within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, NICOA operates as a National Sponsor of the federal Senior Community Service Employment program (SCSEP) in fourteen states through a grant from the Department of Labor.
National Native American Bar Association (NNABA) The National Native American Bar Association serves as the national association for Native American attorneys, judges, law professors and law students. Founded in 1973 as the American Indian Lawyers Association, NNABA works to promote issues important to the Native American community and works to improve professional opportunities for Native American lawyers.
National Native American Law Enforcement Association (NNALEA) The mission of the National Native American Law Enforcement Association is to promote and foster mutual cooperation between Native American law enforcement officers, agents and personnel, their agencies, tribes, private industry and public.
Native American Art Council The Redhawk Native American Arts Council is a small grassroots not-for-profit organization founded in 1994 and maintained by Native American artists and educators who reside in and around New York City. It is dedicated to educating the general public and breaking stereotypes by presenting the traditions and societal contributions of Native Americans through song, dance, art, crafts and other forms of expression.
Native American Capital (NAC) Native American Capital fosters and promotes business and economic development in Indian Country through investment of private equity capital in promising new and developing high growth businesses in Native American and Alaskan Native communities. NAC also provides the technical assistance necessary to ensure the growth, development and profitability of these enterprises.
Native American Disability Law Center The Law Center's mission is to advocate for the rights of Native Americans with disabilities in the Four Corners area and ensure they are enforced, strengthened and brought in harmony with their communities. This private, non-profit works to ensure that Native Americans with disabilities have access to justice and are empowered and equal members of their communities and nations.
Native American Financial Official Association (NAFOA) The Native American Financial Official Association’s mission is to improve the quality of financial and business management of tribal governments, their entities and their businesses.
Indigenous Journalists Association The Native American Journalists Association serves and empowers Native American journalists through programs and actions designed to enrich journalism and promote Native cultures.
Native American Rights Fund The mission of the Native American Rights Fund is to preserve tribal existence, protect tribal natural resources and promote Native American human rights.
Native America Today The mission of the news magazine and public service website is to bring forward thought-provoking journalism, while bringing people closer together by broadening perspectives of Native American peoples, marginalized by traditional stereotypical images.
Partnership with Native Americans (PWNA) PWNA has been serving Native Americans for more than 25 years. It is a nonprofit organization committed to championing hope for a brighter future for Native Americans living on remote, isolated and impoverished reservations. PWNA provides aid and services for Native Americans with the highest need in the U.S.
SACNAS - Society for Advancement of Chicanos/Hispanics and Native Americans in Science SACNAS is an inclusive organization of 6,000+ members dedicated to fostering the success of Chicanos/Hispanics and Native Americans, from college students to professionals, in attaining advanced degrees, careers, and positions of leadership in STEM.
Vision Maker Media The goal of Vision Maker Media (formerly known as Native American Public Telecommunications) is to produce, support the creation, promotion and distribution of Native media, including public television and public radio, and to encourage Native People to share their story. It is a highly regarded source for informative Native American and Pacific Islander educational and home videos. In partnership with public television and radio, all aspects of their programs encourage young people to learn more about careers in the media and to be the next generation of storytellers.
Women Empowering Women for Indigenous Nations (WEWIN) Women Empowering Women for Indigenous Nations (WEWIN) exists to provide Native women with the knowledge, support, and resources necessary to achieve success in their personal and professional lives. The WEWIN Annual Conference is an opportunity for Native women to engage in professional renewal, inspire others and network.

Native American Heritage Month

Native American Heritage Month A collaborative project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and U.S. National Archives and Records Administration.
Native American Heritage Month During National Native American Heritage Month, the National Park Service will explore the heritage, culture, and experience of Indigenous peoples both historically and in American life today, while also sharing the various ways the National Park Service collaborates with Indigenous communities.
Cherokee Nation: Remember the Removal The Cherokee Nation website offers information on its services, government structure, and mission to protect sovereignty, culture, and values. It highlights key initiatives in health, education, and economic development, along with historical milestones and cultural programs, all aiming to improve quality of life for Cherokee citizens.
News article - Remember the Removal Bike Ride Each year, a group of young members of the Cherokee Tribes gets on bikes and retraces the Trail of Tears their ancestors traveled when relocated by the U.S. government almost 100 years ago. They hope to bring more understanding and acknowledgement of the tragic event.

Native American Heritage @ SWIC Library

Celebrating since 1916