Why does children’s poetry matter?
Children’s responses to poetry are innate, instinctive, natural – maybe it starts in the womb, with the mother's heartbeat? Children are hard-wired to musical language – taking pleasure in the rhythm, rhyme, repetition and other patternings of language that are a marked feature of childhood.
As the poet, Tony Harrison, pointed out, it’s the scansion in poetry that unites the attention. Just think how, faced with fretful babies, we rock them rhythmically, dredging up old nursery rhymes, lullabies, or chants to amuse and pacify. This is a universal phenomenon, as Iona and Peter Opie, and other scholars, have shown in their research on the oral tradition.
Even when we tell young children stories, they demand exact retellings and repetitions with the same cadences, rhythms, pauses and tones they heard the time before. This early sharing of musical language is often physical, too; bumping toddlers up and down on our knees and often ending with a kiss. Early poetry is about the expression of love.
At around 7 or 8, children enter the domain of playground rhymes, a private club from which adults are excluded, where chants, rhymes and parodies accompany games, or are just belted out for the sheer communal pleasure of it, the ruder and more shocking, the better!
Poetry is an intense form of language. It can be simultaneously personal and universal. It enlarges the sympathies, helps us understand ourselves better, gives us the pleasure of vicarious experience and offers us insights about being human. It provides a way of working out feelings, giving order to experience by reducing it to manageable proportions.
https://www.cam.ac.uk/research/discussion/the-case-for-children%E2%80%99s-poetry
The Random House Book of Poetry for Children by
The most accessible and joyous introduction to the world of poetry! The Random House Book of Poetry for Children offers both funny and illuminating poems for kids personally selected by the nation's first Children's Poet Laureate, Jack Prelutsky. Featuring a wealth of beloved classic poems from the past and modern glittering gems, every child who opens this treasury will finda world of surprises and delights which will instill a lifelong love of poetry. Featuring 572 unforgettable poems, and over 400 one-of-a-kind illustrations from the Caldecott-winning illustrator of the Frog and Toad series, Arnold Lobel, this collection is, quite simply, the perfect way to introduce children to the world of poetry.
A Pizza the Size of the Sun by
Jack Prelutsky is widely acknowledged as the poet laureate of the younger generation. (And many people would happily see him crowned with no age qualification.) The New Kid on the Block and Something Big Has Been Here are household words wherever there are kids. Here is another wondrously rich, varied, clever - and always funny - collection. Meet Miss Misinformation, Swami Gourami, and Gladiola Gloppe (and her Soup Shoppe), and delight in a backwards poem, a poem that ever ends, and scores of others that will be changed, read, and loved by readers of every age. The Prelutsky-Stevenson duo is irresistible. Whether you begin at the beginning or just open the book at random, you won't stop smiling.
The 20th Century Children's Poetry Treasury by
"Until this century, most children's poetry was either syrupy sweet or overblown and didactic, and tended to talk down to its readers. Contemporary children's poets have thrown all that condescension and moralizing out the window, and write with today's real child in mind." —from the Introduction by Jack Prelutsky Here in one gloriously illustrated volume are 211 wonderful poems that represent the best this century has to offer. From sibling rivalry, school, monsters, food, and just plain silliness, to such ageless themes as the seasons, Who am I?, and the many moods of childhood, this is a collection that begs to be read aloud and shared with the whole family. The poems, from every decade of this century, showcase 137 famous poets. Selected by Jack Prelutsky, America's leading children's poet, and illustrated by award-winning watercolorist Meilo So, this useful and beautiful gift is a splendid way to end the century — or start a new one. Truly a book that families will cherish long after the millennium excitement is over, The 20th-Century Children's Poetry Treasury is a joyous companion volume to the best-selling The 20th-Century Children's Book Treasury.
One Minute till Bedtime by
Just one more before bedtime? Please?? It's time for tuck-in, and your little one wants just one more moment with you--so fill it with something that will feed the imagination, fuel a love of reading, and send them off to sleep in a snap. Reach for a one-minute poem! Former Children's Poet Laureate Kenn Nesbitt presents a blockbuster collection of all-new poetry penned by some of the most beloved and celebrated poets of our time, including Jack Prelutsky, Jon Scieszka, Mary Ann Hoberman, Nikki Grimes, Lemony Snicket, Jane Yolen, and many more. Illuminated with dreamlike wit and whimsy by New York Times illustrator and award-winning artist Christoph Niemann, here is a new bedtime classic. When the busy day is drawing to a close and the whole family is ready for rest, take a minute for poetry and send your little one off to sleep.
Hypnotize a Tiger by
Winner of the Lee Bennett Hopkins Poetry Honor Award Winner of the Lion & Unicorn Award for Excellence in North American Poetry An NEA Educator Recommended Book This is the first longer-format, middle-grade collection from #1New York Times-bestselling author-illustrator Calef Brown. Moving away from the picture book format offers Calef the opportunity to tackle a variety of themes and poetry styles as well as reach a slightly older audience.Hypnotize a Tiger is chock-full of Calef's zany black-and-white artwork and features his wonderfully inventive characters and worlds--from the "completely nonviolent and silent" Lou Gnome to Percival, the impetuous (and none-too-sensible) lad who believes he is invincible, to Hugh Jarm (who has a huge arm, natch!). It's a whimsical world: creative, fun, and inspiring!
Wet Cement by
Who says words need to be concrete? This collection shapes poems in surprising and delightful ways. Concrete poetry is a perennially popular poetic form because they are fun to look at. But by using the arrangement of the words on the page to convey the meaning of the poem, concrete or shape poems are also easy to write! From the author of the incredibly inventiveLemonade: And Other Poems Squeezed from a Single Word comes another clever collection that shows kids how to look at words and poetry in a whole new way.
When Green Becomes Tomatoes by
december 29 and i woke to a morning that was quiet and white the first snow (just like magic) came on tip toes overnight Flowers blooming in sheets of snow make way for happy frogs dancing in the rain. Summer swims move over for autumn sweaters until the snow comes back again. In Julie Fogliano's skilled hand and illustrated by Julie Morstad's charming pictures, the seasons come to life in this gorgeous and comprehensive book of poetry.
Amazing Peace by
Celebrate Christmas with the joyous poetry of the incomparable Maya Angelou. Angelou's beautiful, moving, and beloved poem, which she first read at the 2005 White House tree-lighting ceremony, now comes alive as a fully illustrated children's book, celebrating the promise of peace in the holiday season. In this simple story, a family joins with their community-rich and poor, black and white, Christian, Muslim, and Jew-to celebrate the holidays. This special package includes an audio CD of the author reading the poem aloud.
Don't Bump the Glump! by
Don't Bump the Glump! turns fifty! A commemorative gold anniversary sticker graces Shel Silverstein's first poetry collection, celebrating fifty years since publication. This, his only book in full color, was published the same year as his famous classic The Giving Tree. Filled with stunning ink and watercolor illustrations, Don't Bump the Glump! is bursting with Shel Silverstein's unique imagination and bold brand of humor. Are you ready to be astonished, tickled, and entertained by this most unusual bestiary of silly and amazing creatures? Shel Silverstein's incomparable career as a bestselling children's book author and illustrator started with Lafcadio, the Lion Who Shot Back. He is also the creator of picture books including A Giraffe and a Half, Who Wants a Cheap Rhinoceros?, The Missing Piece, The Missing Piece Meets the Big O, and the perennial favorite The Giving Tree, as well as of classic poetry collections such as Where the Sidewalk Ends, A Light in the Attic, Falling Up, Every Thing On It, Don't Bump the Glump!, and Runny Babbit. And don't miss Runny Babbit Returns, the new book from Shel Silverstein!
Falling Up by
From New York Times bestselling author Shel Silverstein, the classic creator of Where the Sidewalk Ends, A Light in the Attic, and Every Thing On It, comes a wondrous book of poems and drawings. Filled with unforgettable characters like Screamin' Millie; Allison Beals and her twenty-five eels; Danny O'Dare, the dancin' bear; the Human Balloon; and Headphone Harold, this collection by the celebrated Shel Silverstein will charm young readers and make them want to trip on their shoelaces and fall up too! So come, wander through the Nose Garden, ride the Little Hoarse, eat in the Strange Restaurant, and let the magic of Shel Silverstein open your eyes and tickle your mind. And don't miss Runny Babbit Returns, the new book from Shel Silverstein!
An Old Shell by
A collection of poems exploring and celebrating the Galapagos Islands and their various animals, including The Voyage of the Rice Rat, Magnificent Frigatebird, and The Sea Lion's Song.
Bein' with You This Way by
A little girl runs through the park noting differences between people, but surmising that we are all the same. "Straight hair, curly hair - different but the same!" "Big nose, little nose. Light skin, dark skin - different but the same!" Even with our differences, she chants, "Isn't it delightful bein' with you this way?" This poem reflects a perfect sentiment for our children living in this multicultural society.
For Laughing Out Loud by
Illus. in full color. "These nonsense verses combine the domestic and the gross, deadpan and slapstick, with a lilting rhythm and satisfying rhyme. The poets are well-known contemporaries including Prelutsky, Silverstein, Kuskin, Lobel, Viorst, and many more. The design is ebullient. Start or end story hour with these verses, and kids will know reading's a pleasure."--(starred)Booklist.
In Daddy's Arms I Am Tall by
Illustrated by Javaka Steptoe Twelve poets give testimony to the powerful bond between African American fathers, children and grandchildren in the brilliantly illustrated volume.
Hailstone Halibut Pa by
Award-winner Wallner has illustrated this full-color edition of O'Neill's classic poetry book. With a compelling sense of rhythm and with images that are clear and fresh, O'Neill explores the spectrum in 12 poems and 12 different colors.Copyright © Libri GmbH. All rights reserved.
A Light in the Attic by
From New York Times bestselling author Shel Silverstein, the creator of the beloved poetry collections Where the Sidewalk Ends, Falling Up, and Every Thing On It, comes an imaginative book of poems and drawings--a favorite of Shel Silverstein fans young and old. A Light in the Attic delights with remarkable characters and hilariously profound poems in a collection readers will return to again and again. Here in the attic you will find Backward Bill, Sour Face Ann, the Meehoo with an Exactlywatt, and the Polar Bear in the Frigidaire. You will talk with Broiled Face, and find out what happens when Somebody steals your knees, you get caught by the Quick-Digesting Gink, a Mountain snores, and They Put a Brassiere on the Camel. Come on up to the attic of Shel Silverstein and let the light bring you home. And don't miss The Giving Tree and Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein, also available as ebooks!
Bronzeville Boys and Girls by
In 1956, Pulitzer Prize winner Gwendolyn Brooks created a collection of poems that celebrated the joy, beauty, imagination, and freedom of childhood. She reminded us that whether we live in the Bronzeville section of Chicago or any other neighborhood, childhood is universal in its richness of emotions and experiences. And now a brand-new generation of readers will savor Ms. Brooks's poems in this stunning reillustrated edition that features vibrant paintings by Caldecott Honor artist Faith Ringgold.
For a Girl Becoming by
Transformative moments in the cycle of life are a time for acknowledgment, a chance to guide a child’s path in a positive and loving direction. Swirling images laden with both myth and personal meaning illustrate this unique, poetic tale of the joys and lessons of a girl’s journey through birth, youth, and finally adulthood. Within these colorful pages, family and community come together in celebration of her arrival, offering praise, love, and advice to help carry her forward through the many milestones to come, and reminding her always of how deeply she is cherished. It is a reminder, too, of our abiding connections to the natural world, and the cyclical nature of life as a whole. With its rich, symbolic artwork and captivating language, For a Girl Becoming is the perfect gift to recognize a birth, graduation, or any other significant moment in a young woman’s life. Not only for children, this lively and touching story speaks to that part in each of us who still stands at the door of becoming. nbsp;
Yertle the Turtle by
Three modern fables in humorous pictures and verse.
Tyrannosaurus Was a Beast by
A collection of humorous poems about dinosaurs.
Imagine That! by
There's the Flotz who gobbles dots (watch out if you have freckles), the Phillyloo Bird and the Wendigo, the Hum Bug Machine and the Ogglewop...just try to imagine them! This glorious gathering of 50 poems about imaginary monsters, machines, and other weird things is guaranteed to poke, prod, tease, and tickle a child's own powers of imagination. Here are tales that are a little bit spooky, inspire creative thinking, and are downright funny from such poets as Dr. Seuss, Lewis Carroll, Ogden Nash, John Ciardi, Spike Milligan, and of course Jack Prelutsky, along with the lively paintings of Kevin Hawkes. This collection is first rate!
Wing Nuts by
This hilarious collection of offbeat poetry introduces senryu, a cousin of haiku featuring punchy and punny poems that tackle a range of child-friendly subjects. Full color.