LibGuides: *: Home

Welcome to World Religions @ SWIC Library!

This online guide features SWIC Library's physical collection. Over two hundred recently acquired library materials are assembled by religion into 14 sections as outlined to the left.

Browse books in the galleries BELOW and in the TABS to the left.
Library Pick-Up Service: Watch this QUICK VIDEO on how to place a book request. Once requested, library staff will pull your item from the shelf and email you that it's ready for pick up at the library's front desk. You will need your SWIC ID to check items out of the library. The typical loan period for library items is 4 weeks. See our current library hours.

You will also find interesting and fun videos to watch and share.

Finally, be sure to scroll down to a curated list of credible web resources.

World Religions Interactive Map

Browse and Request Books @ SWIC Library

Web Resources

The Study of Religions

The Association of Religion Data Archives The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) is an interactive site that includes national profiles of religious groups, maps, tables, charts, surveys and reports.
Global Religious Landscape - Pew Research Center A comprehensive demographic study of more than 230 countries and territories conducted by the Pew Research Center’s Forum on Religion & Public Life.
Patheos: Library of World Religions and Faith Traditions Engage and explore the religious beliefs and spirituals traditions of the top 50 major religions. View peer-reviewed, encyclopedic information that helps readers understand origins, history, beliefs, rituals, ethics, and community structures.
ReligionFacts: Just the Facts on World Religions ReligionFacts provides "just the facts" on the world's religions and topics of religious interest.
Religious Studies Web Guide This web site, in existence since 1995, focuses on free (open-access) internet resources (bibliographies, indexes, library and archive catalogues, dictionaries, encyclopedias, e-texts and journals) supporting the academic study of religion.
U.S. Religious Landscape Study - Pew Research Center Explore religious groups in the U.S. by tradition, family and denomination.
World Religions Map Explore religious beliefs around the world through an interactive map that displays the religions that are the most prevalent in each country around the world. You may click on one of eight religious groupings listed in the menu to examine its relative prevalence in each country. The map features brief descriptions of each religious grouping and bar graphs that reflect the percentage of a country’s population associated with each grouping.

Native American

Belief and Worship in Native North American One of the world’s foremost scholars of American Indian religions has gathered fifteen articles on native North American religions for an American audience.
Native American Religious and Cultural Freedom: an Introductory Essay The Pluralism Project at Harvard University studies and interprets the changing religious landscape of the United States.
Native American Religions - Internet Sacred Text Archive The Internet Sacred Text Archive is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics.
Native American Traditions - Pluralism Project The Pluralism Project at Harvard University studies and interprets the changing religious landscape of the United States.
Native American Traditions - Religion as a Way of Life The Pluralism Project at Harvard University studies and interprets the changing religious landscape of the United States.

African

15 Facts About African Religions African religions cover a diverse landscape of ethnic groups, languages, cultures, and worldviews. Here, Jacob K. Olupona, author of African Religions: A Very Short Introduction shares an interesting list of 15 facts on African religions.
African Religion - Internet Sacred Text Archive The Internet Sacred Text Archive is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics.
Map of Religions in Africa Map of African countries and their religion.
Traditional African Religions A library resource guide with text and videos about the religions of Africa.

Hinduism

Core Belief of Hindus Article written by Dr. Amrutur V. Srinivasan. He was born in India and is the primary founder and first President of the Connecticut Valley Hindu Temple Society. He has functioned as a Hindu priest performing a wide variety of pujas (worships), weddings, and other ceremonies since 1971.
Hindu Philosophy The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy, a peer-reviewed academic resource, provides open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
Hinduism 101 The Hindu American Foundation (HAF) focuses on educating the public about Hindus and Hinduism and advocating for policies and practices that ensure the well-being of all people and the planet.
Hinduism Basics The Hindu American Foundation (HAF) focuses on educating the public about Hindus and Hinduism and advocating for policies and practices that ensure the well-being of all people and the planet.
Hinduism - Internet Sacred Text Archive The Internet Sacred Text Archive is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics.
Hinduism - Pluralism Project The Pluralism Project at Harvard University studies and interprets the changing religious landscape of the United States.
Hinduism - Quick Reference Guide View a Quick Reference Guide for Hinduism.
Hinduism - Religious Studies Center The Religious Studies Center is the research and publishing arm of Religious Education at Brigham Young University.
Hinduism - World History Encyclopedia World History Encyclopedia is a non-profit organization who's mission is to engage people with cultural heritage and to improve history education worldwide.
History of Hinduism BBC is the national broadcaster of the United Kingdom and is the world's oldest national broadcaster. It creates programs and content which inform, educate and entertain millions of people in the UK and around the world.
ReligionFacts: Hinduism ReligionFacts provides "just the facts" on the world's religions and topics of religious interest.
What is Hinduism? The Center for Religious & Spiritual Life serves the Gettysburg College community by providing opportunities to explore religious and spiritual life issues as part of our formation in faith with the spirit of openness, reason, and tolerance, which we also understand to be in keeping with the inclusive tradition of Gettysburg College and the Lutheran community.

Jainism

An Introduction to the Jain Faith - Khan Academy Khan Academy's mission is to provide a free, world-class education to anyone, anywhere.
Jain Philosophy The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy, a peer-reviewed academic resource, provides open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
Jainism at a Glance BBC is impartial and independent and creates distinctive, world-class programs and content which inform, educate and entertain millions of people in the UK and around the world.
Jainism - FAQs The Jainpedia project was created by the Institute of Jainology to widen awareness of Jainism in the community and advance scholary work.
Jainism - Internet Sacred Text Archive The Internet Sacred Text Archive is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics.
Jainism - Pluralism Project The Pluralism Project at Harvard University studies and interprets the changing religious landscape of the United States.
Jainism - Religious Studies Center The Religious Studies Center is the research and publishing arm of Religious Education at Brigham Young University.
Jainism - World History Encyclopedia World History Encyclopedia is a non-profit organization who's mission is to engage people with cultural heritage and to improve history education worldwide.
ReligionFacts: Jainism ReligionFacts provides "just the facts" on the world's religions and topics of religious interest.

Buddhism

Access to Insight: Readings in Theravada Buddhism Access to Insight is a website dedicated to providing accurate, reliable, and useful information concerning the practice and study of Theravada Buddhism, as it has been handed down to us through both the written word of the Pali canon and the living example of the Sangha.
Buddhism BBC is the national broadcaster of the United Kingdom and is the world's oldest national broadcaster. It creates programs and content which inform, educate and entertain millions of people in the UK and around the world.
Buddhism - Internet Sacred Text Archive The Internet Sacred Text Archive is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics.
Buddhism - The Pluralism Project The Pluralism Project at Harvard University studies and interprets the changing religious landscape of the United States.
Buddhism Philosophy - Madhyamaka The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy, a peer-reviewed academic resource, provides open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
Buddhism Philosophy - Pudgalavada The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy, a peer-reviewed academic resource, provides open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
Buddhism - Religious Studies Center The Religious Studies Center is the research and publishing arm of Religious Education at Brigham Young University.
Buddhism - World History Encyclopedia World History Encyclopedia is a non-profit organization who's mission is to engage people with cultural heritage and to improve history education worldwide.
ReligionFacts: Buddhism ReligionFacts provides "just the facts" on the world's religions and topics of religious interest.
Study Buddhism Studybuddhism.com is an extensive source of authentic Buddhist teachings, presented in a down-to-earth and practical way. Free of charge and free of adverts, our aim is to make the wisdom of Tibet available and accessible to our modern world. This website is the next generation of The Berzin Archives, founded in 2001 by Dr. Alexander Berzin, a Buddhist teacher, translator and practitioner with more than 50 years of experience. With an international team of over 80 people, studybuddhism.com continues to grow; we add new articles, videos and audio teachings on a regular basis.
What is Buddhism? The Center for Religious & Spiritual Life serves the Gettysburg College community by providing opportunities to explore religious and spiritual life issues as part of our formation in faith with the spirit of openness, reason, and tolerance, which we also understand to be in keeping with the inclusive tradition of Gettysburg College and the Lutheran community.

Sikhism

Gateway to Sikhism A comprehensive web site on sikhism, sikh history and philosophy, customs and rituals, sikh way of life, social and religious movements.
Sikh Encyclopedia The Encyclopedia of Sikhism is a 4 volume encyclopaedia on Sikhism prepared under the auspices of Punjabi University, Patiala by Professor Harbans Singh. The Encyclopaedia of Sikhism was the first of its kind in the field of Sikh studies; it is comprehensive in its scope and includes entries to cover topics such as Sikh history, theology, philosophy, literature, art and architecture, customs and ceremonies, sects, personalities, shrines, etc.
Sikhism BBC is the national broadcaster of the United Kingdom and is the world's oldest national broadcaster. It creates programs and content which inform, educate and entertain millions of people in the UK and around the world.
Sikhism - Internet Sacred Text Archive The Internet Sacred Text Archive is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics.
Sikhism - Pluralism Project The Pluralism Project at Harvard University studies and interprets the changing religious landscape of the United States.
ReligionFacts: Sikhism ReligionFacts provides "just the facts" on the world's religions and topics of religious interest.

Daoism

Daoism - Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
Daoist Philosophy The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy, a peer-reviewed academic resource, provides open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
ReligionFacts: Taoism ReligionFacts provides "just the facts" on the world's religions and topics of religious interest.
Taoism BBC is the national broadcaster of the United Kingdom and is the world's oldest national broadcaster. It creates programs and content which inform, educate and entertain millions of people in the UK and around the world.
Taoism / Daoism The Nations Online Project was constructed to help improve cross-cultural understanding and international awareness. Here you can find background information on countries around the world as well as news from around the world.
Taoism - Internet Sacred Text Archive The Internet Sacred Text Archive is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics.
Taoism - Religious Studies Center The Religious Studies Center is the research and publishing arm of Religious Education at Brigham Young University.
Taoism - World History Encyclopedia World History Encyclopedia is a non-profit organization who's mission is to engage people with cultural heritage and to improve history education worldwide.

Confucianism

Confucianism and Traditional Chinese Beliefs - Internet Sacred Text Archive The Internet Sacred Text Archive is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics.
Confucianism - Pluralism Project The Pluralism Project at Harvard University studies and interprets the changing religious landscape of the United States.
Confucianism - Religious Studies Center The Religious Studies Center is the research and publishing arm of Religious Education at Brigham Young University.
Confucianism - World History Encyclopedia World History Encyclopedia is a non-profit organization whose mission is to engage people with cultural heritage and to improve history education worldwide.
Confucius The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy, a peer-reviewed academic resource, provides open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
Confucius and Confucianism The Encyclopaedia on Chinese History, Literature and Art provides information on a wide range of topics in Chinese history, literature, art, religions and philosophy. It draws to a great extent upon Chinese-language secondary sources and thus gives access to information rarely found in Western books.
Confucius - Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
ReligionFacts: Confucianism ReligionFacts provides "just the facts" on the world's religions and topics of religious interest.

Shintoism

ReligionFacts: Shinto ReligionFacts provides "just the facts" on the world's religions and topics of religious interest.
Shinto BBC is the national broadcaster of the United Kingdom and is the world's oldest national broadcaster. It creates programs and content which inform, educate and entertain millions of people in the UK and around the world.
Shinto - Pluralism Project The Pluralism Project at Harvard University studies and interprets the changing religious landscape of the United States.
Shinto - Religious Studies Center The Religious Studies Center is the research and publishing arm of Religious Education at Brigham Young University.
Shintoism - Internet Sacred Text Archive The Internet Sacred Text Archive is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics.
Understanding Shinto - Japan's Ancient Religion web magazine in order to educate and inspire you by exploring some of the basic ideas, art forms and cultural norms that you will encounter in Japan.

Zoroastrianism

Zoroastrianism BBC is the national broadcaster of the United Kingdom and is the world's oldest national broadcaster. It creates programs and content which inform, educate and entertain millions of people in the UK and around the world.
Zoroastrianism - World History Encyclopedia World History Encyclopedia is a non-profit organization whose mission is to engage people with cultural heritage and to improve history education worldwide.
Zoroastrianism - Religious Studies Center The Religious Studies Center is the research and publishing arm of Religious Education at Brigham Young University.
Zoroastrianism - Internet Sacred Text Archive The Internet Sacred Text Archive is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics.
Zoroastrianism - Pluralism Project The Pluralism Project at Harvard University studies and interprets the changing religious landscape of the United States.
An Introduction to Zoroastrianism - Khan Academy Khan Academy's mission is to provide a free, world-class education to anyone, anywhere.
Zoroastrianism - Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices SWIC ID# and PW required: Worldmark Encyclopedia Of Religious Practices, provides information on current religious practices around the world with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers.

Judaism

Early Judaism - World History Encyclopedia World History Encyclopedia is a non-profit organization whose mission is to engage people with cultural heritage and to improve history education worldwide.
Judaism BBC is the national broadcaster of the United Kingdom and is the world's oldest national broadcaster. It creates programs and content which inform, educate and entertain millions of people in the UK and around the world.
Judaism - Internet Sacred Text Archive The Internet Sacred Text Archive is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics.
Judaism - National Library of Israel The National Library of Israel collects, preserves, cultivates and endows the treasures of knowledge, heritage and culture in general, with an emphasis on the Land of Israel, the State of Israel and the Jewish people in particular.
Judaism - Pluralism Project The Pluralism Project at Harvard University studies and interprets the changing religious landscape of the United States.
Judaism - Religious Studies Center The Religious Studies Center is the research and publishing arm of Religious Education at Brigham Young University.
ReligionFacts: Judaism ReligionFacts provides "just the facts" on the world's religions and topics of religious interest.
What is Judaism? The Center for Religious & Spiritual Life serves the Gettysburg College community by providing opportunities to explore religious and spiritual life issues as part of our formation in faith with the spirit of openness, reason, and tolerance, which we also understand to be in keeping with the inclusive tradition of Gettysburg College and the Lutheran community.

Christianity

Christianity - Internet Sacred Text Archive The Internet Sacred Text Archive is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics.
Christianity - Pluralism Project The Pluralism Project at Harvard University studies and interprets the changing religious landscape of the United States.
Christianity - Religious Studies Center The Religious Studies Center is the research and publishing arm of Religious Education at Brigham Young University.
Christianity - World History Encyclopedia World History Encyclopedia is a non-profit organization whose mission is to engage people with cultural heritage and to improve history education worldwide.
ReligionFacts: Christianity ReligionFacts provides "just the facts" on the world's religions and topics of religious interest.
Early Christianity - World History Encyclopedia World History Encyclopedia is a non-profit organization whose mission is to engage people with cultural heritage and to improve history education worldwide.
Christianity BBC is the national broadcaster of the United Kingdom and is the world's oldest national broadcaster. It creates programs and content which inform, educate and entertain millions of people in the UK and around the world.
What is Christianity? The Center for Religious & Spiritual Life serves the Gettysburg College community by providing opportunities to explore religious and spiritual life issues as part of our formation in faith with the spirit of openness, reason, and tolerance, which we also understand to be in keeping with the inclusive tradition of Gettysburg College and the Lutheran community.
Factsheet: Christianity The Religion Media Centre is an impartial and independent organization aiming to increase further cohesion and understanding in society by helping the media report and understand religion and belief.

Islam

Belief and Daily Life of Muslims Educational resource supporting the PBS program, FRONTLINE. It is an award winning series that tackles controversial issues and complex stories.
Islam BBC is the national broadcaster of the United Kingdom and is the world's oldest national broadcaster. It creates programs and content which inform, educate and entertain millions of people in the UK and around the world.
Islam - Internet Sacred Text Archive The Internet Sacred Text Archive is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics.
Islam - Pluralism Project The Pluralism Project at Harvard University studies and interprets the changing religious landscape of the United States.
Islam - Religious Studies Center The Religious Studies Center is the research and publishing arm of Religious Education at Brigham Young University.
Islam - World History Encyclopedia World History Encyclopedia is a non-profit organization whose mission is to engage people with cultural heritage and to improve history education worldwide.
The Religion of Islam Founded in 1946, the Middle East Institute is the oldest Washington-based institution dedicated solely to the study of the Middle East. It is a non-partisan think tank providing expert policy analysis, educational and professional development services, and a hub for engaging with the region's arts and culture.
ReligionFacts: Islam ReligionFacts provides "just the facts" on the world's religions and topics of religious interest.
What is Islam? The Center for Religious & Spiritual Life serves the Gettysburg College community by providing opportunities to explore religious and spiritual life issues as part of our formation in faith with the spirit of openness, reason, and tolerance, which we also understand to be in keeping with the inclusive tradition of Gettysburg College and the Lutheran community.

Baha'i

Baha'i BBC is the national broadcaster of the United Kingdom and is the world's oldest national broadcaster. It creates programs and content which inform, educate and entertain millions of people in the UK and around the world.
The Baha'i Faith The official website of the worldwide Baha'i Community.
Baha'i - Internet Sacred Text Archive The Internet Sacred Text Archive is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics.
Baha'i of the United States Bahai.us is the official website of the Baha’is of the United States. It was created and is maintained under the auspices of the National Spiritual Assembly of the Baha’is of the United States, the nine-member elected governing body of the U.S. Baha’i community.
Baha'i - Pluralism Project The Pluralism Project at Harvard University studies and interprets the changing religious landscape of the United States.
Baha'i Reference Library The Bahá’í Reference Library is the authoritative online source of Bahá’í writings. It contains selected works of Bahá’u’lláh, the Báb, ‘Abdu’l‑Bahá, Shoghi Effendi, and the Universal House of Justice, as well as other Bahá’í texts.
Baha'i - Religious Studies Center The Religious Studies Center is the research and publishing arm of Religious Education at Brigham Young University.
ReligionFacts: Baha'i ReligionFacts provides "just the facts" on the world's religions and topics of religious interest.

*

SWIC Librarian

SWIC Librarian

SWIC Librarian

Welcome to World Religions @ SWIC Library!

This online guide features SWIC Library's physical collection. Over two hundred recently acquired library materials are assembled by religion into 14 sections as outlined to the left.

Browse books in the galleries BELOW and in the TABS to the left.

Finally, be sure to scroll down to a curated list of credible web resources.

Browse and Request Books @ SWIC Library

Web Resources

The Study of Religions

Native American

African

Hinduism

Jainism

Buddhism

Sikhism

Daoism

Confucianism

Shintoism

Zoroastrianism

Judaism

Christianity

Islam

Baha'i