LibGuides: Hispanic Heritage @ SWIC Library: Home

Welcome to Hispanic Heritage Month @ SWIC Library!

From September 15 through October 15, the library is featuring a collection of items that recognize, acknowledge and celebrate the histories, cultures, and contributions of American citizens whose ancestors came from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean, Central and South America.

Browse BOOKS in the gallery below and tabs to the left.

Watch this QUICK VIDEO on how to place a book request. Once requested, library staff will pull your item from the shelf and email you that it's ready for pick up at the library's front desk. You will need your SWIC ID to check items out of the library. The typical loan period for library items is 4 weeks. See our current library hours.

Videos to watch and share.
Scroll down to Web Resources for Hispanic American Arts & Culture, Business & Employment, Civil Rights & Political Participation, Facts & Figures, Health & Wellness, History, Literature, Media, Primary Sources, Professional & Community and St. Louis Organizations.

Listen to prominent Latino musicians in the U.S. and in Latin America, from Google Arts & Culture

Gallery - Browse & Request Books @ SWIC Library

Web Resources

Arts & Culture

Arte Público Press The oldest and most accomplished publisher of contemporary and recovered literature by US Hispanic authors.
El Museo del Barrio Latino, Caribbean, and Latin American cultures are represented in El Museo’s wide-ranging collections and exhibitions, complemented by film, literary, visual and performing arts series, cultural celebrations, and educational programs.
Google Arts & Culture - Latino Cultures in the US Explore the powerful voices, resilient communities and deep historical roots of Latino culture.
Hispanic Music and Culture of the Northern Rio Grande: The Juan B. Rael Collection Music collection documenting religious and secular music of Spanish-speaking residents of rural Northern New Mexico and Southern Colorado.
Latino Film Institute The Latino Film Institute (LFI) showcases, strengthens and celebrates the richness of Latino lives by providing a pipeline, platform and launching pad from our community into the entertainment industry.
Latinopia Latinopia is a place to discover and discuss Latino arts, history, music, literature, cooking and cinema.
National Association of Latino Arts and Cultures The National Association of Latino Arts and Cultures is the nation’s premier nonprofit organization exclusively dedicated to the Latino arts field.
National Hispanic Cultural Center The National Hispanic Cultural Center is dedicated to the preservation, promotion and advancement of Hispanic culture, arts and humanities.
Smithsonian - Latin Music Explore collections and resources related to Latin music.
Smithsonian - Latino Center The Smithsonian Latino Center works toward preserving Latino history and culture, engaging Latino communities and advancing Latino representation in the United States.
Smithsonian - Latinx Art & Artists The Smithsonian American Art Museum's growing Latinx art collection represents the rich contributions of Latinxs to our country from the colonial period to the present.
Sounds and Colours Sounds and Colours is a website, print publication and record label dedicated to Latin American music and culture, with a particular focus on the South American countries.

Business and Employment

Hispanic Alliance for Career Enhancement HACE is a national non-profit dedicated to the employment, development, and advancement of current and aspiring Latino professionals.
Hispanic Association on Corporate Responsibility Hispanic Association on Corporate Responsibility’s (HACR) mission is to advance the inclusion of Hispanics in Corporate America at a level commensurate with our economic contributions in the areas of Employment, Procurement, Philanthropy, and Governance.
iHispano Connecting diverse talent with great opportunities.
National Hispanic Business Group The NHBG is dedicated to expanding, promoting and creating business opportunities for its members by strategically fostering dialogue and economic exchange, while supporting positive social change and community empowerment.
Saludos Ranked #1 in Hispanic Employment.
United States Hispanic Chamber of Commerce USHCC actively promotes the economic growth, development, and interests of more than 4.7 million Hispanic-owned businesses, that combined, contribute over $800 billion to the American economy every year.

Civil Rights and Political Participation

Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute CHCI provides leadership, public service, and policy experiences to outstanding Latino/a/x students and young professionals, and convenes Members of Congress and other public officials, corporate executives, nonprofit advocates, and thought leaders to discuss issues facing the nation and the Hispanic community.
Dominican American National Roundtable The Dominican-American National Council (NDAC) is an empowerment and civic participation body serving in the United States in joint work with entities and leaders that advocate for civic empowerment.
Hispanas Organized for Political Equality HOPE is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization committed to ensuring political and economic parity for Latinas through leadership, advocacy, and education to the benefit of all communities and the status of women.
Latinas Unidas Latinas Unidas fosters opportunities that will promote unity, cultural identity and the presence of the Latina woman in the community and encourage and motivate women to be self-confident to assume leadership roles to positively impact society.
The Latino Coalition By analyzing the impact of Federal, State and local legislation, government regulations, and taxes on the Latino community, TLC is able to work with policymakers and stakeholders to create an environment that allows Latinos to thrive.
Latino Justice LatinoJustice works to create a more just society by using and challenging the rule of law to secure transformative, equitable and accessible justice, by empowering our community and by fostering leadership through advocacy and education.
League of United Latin American Citizens LULAC advances the economic condition, educational attainment, political influence, housing, health and civil rights of Hispanic Americans through community-based programs operating at more than 1,000 LULAC councils nationwide.
MANA: A National Latina Organization MANA empowers Latinas through leadership development, community service, and advocacy.
Mexican-American Legal Defense and Education Fund MALDEF is the nation’s leading Latino legal civil rights organization committed to protect and defend the rights of all Latinos living in the United States and the constitutional rights of all Americans.
National Association of Latino Elected and Appointed Officials (NALEO) Education Fund NALEO Educational Fund is the nation’s leading 501(c) (3) non-profit, non-partisan organization that facilitates full Latino participation in the American political process, from citizenship to public service.
National Hispanic Caucus of State Legislators NHCSL's primary mission is to organize Hispanic state legislators who advocate for advancements in education, healthcare, housing, economic development, criminal justice and employment and job training for the Hispanic community.
National Network for Immigrant and Refugee Rights NNIRR works to defend and expand the rights of all immigrants and refugees, regardless of immigration status.
United Farm Workers The UFW actively champion legislative and regulatory reforms for farm workers covering issues such as worker protections, pesticides and immigration reform.
Voto Latino Voto Latino is a grassroots political organization focused on educating and empowering a new generation of Latinx voters, as well as creating a more robust and inclusive democracy.

Facts and Figures

Hispanic / Latinos - Pew Research Center Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
Hispanic Data Links - United States Census Bureau The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the nation’s leading provider of quality data about its people and economy.
Hispanics in Illinois - United States Census Bureau The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the nation’s leading provider of quality data about its people and economy.

Health and Wellness

Health of Hispanic or Latino Population Published by the National Center for Health Statistics.
Health Profile: Hispanic / Latino Americans The Office of Minority Health is dedicated to improving the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will help eliminate health disparities.
Hispanics and Mental Health Mental Health America is dedicated to addressing the needs of those living with mental illness and promoting the overall mental health of all.
Latino Commission on AIDS Latino Commission on AIDS spearheads health advocacy for Latinos, promotes HIV education, develops model prevention programs for high-risk communities and by builds capacity in community organizations.
National Alliance for Hispanic Health The National Alliance for Hispanic Health is the premier science-based and community-driven organization that focuses on the best health for all.
National Center for Farmworker Health NCFH is dedicated to improving the health status of farmworker families.
National Hispanic Medical Association NHMA is a non-profit association representing the interests of 50,000 licensed Hispanic physicians in the United States.
National Latina Institute for Reproductive Health The Latina Institute fights for equal access to reproductive health for Latina/x communities.

History

American Latino Heritage Explore American Latino Heritage by reading about historic people and places highlighted by the National Park Services.
Hispanic / Latino Heritage The National Archives and Record Administration (NARA) is the nation's record keeper. View historical documents related Hispanic / Latino heritage.
Hispanic American Veterans Read personal stories about Hispanic Veterans from the archives of the Library of Congress Veterans History Project.
The Hispanic Museum and Library A free, public museum and reference library for the study of the art and culture of the Spain, Portugal, Latin America, and the Philippines.
Hispanics in the U.S. Army Read about Hispanics in the U.S. Army between 1861 - present day.
The Mexican Museum The mission of The Mexican Museum is to voice the complexity and richness of Latino art and culture throughout the Americas, and to engage and facilitate dialogue among the broadest public.
PBS - LATINO AMERICANS - Documentary Series LATINO AMERICANS is the first major documentary series for television to chronicle the rich and varied history and experiences of Latinos, who have helped shape North America over the last 500-plus years and have become, with more than 50 million people, the largest minority group in the U.S.

Literature

52 Books by Hispanic and Latinx Authors to Read Now Hispanic Heritage Month is the perfect time to relish the latest works from beloved Hispanic and Latinx authors. This list includes something for every type of reading mood: romance, horror, science fiction, literary fiction, and nonfiction.
Archive of Hispanic Literature on Tape - PALABRA Archive The PALABRA Archive is a collection of audio recordings from Spanish, Portuguese, Latin American, Caribbean, and Latinx poets and prose writers reading from their works.
Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month The book list features nonfiction and fiction by and about Latinx and Hispanic authors and characters from all over the world.
Hispanic Heritage Booklists for Children Children's booklists featuring titles about Hispanic Heritage organized by topic. Many books on our recommended lists are bilingual or are available in Spanish.
Hispanic Heritage Literature Organization HHLO leads literary, artistic, and cultural programs for the benefit of the international community with the purpose of providing social wellbeing, cultural sensitivity, inclusion, preservation of intangible cultural heritage and the defense of the environment.
Hispanic Reading Room Explore resources in the Hispanic Reading Room at the Library of Congress.
LGBTQ Latinx Students Share 12 Must-Reads LGBTQ Latinx members of GLSEN’s National Student Council compiled a list of books, ranging from children’s books to autobiographies, that shed light on LGBTQ Latinx identities. Importantly, these books explore LGBTQ and Latinx identities as overlapping rather than separate, showing the multiplicity of experiences within these identities.

Media

California Chicano News Media Association The organization’s mission is to foster an accurate and fair portrayal of Latinos in the news, and to promote the social, economic and professional advancement of Latino journalists.
Contacto Magazine Contacto Magazine is an independent publication on Latin American issues.
Galavisión Galavisión is a Spanish-language entertainment channel in the United States.
Hispanic Communications Network The largest U.S. producer and syndicator of Spanish-language public interest and educational content for traditional and digital media.
Hispanic PR Wire Hispanic PR Wire is the premier news broadcast service to Hispanic media in the United States.
La Opinión Digital La Opinión is the largest Spanish-language newspaper in the United States and the second most read newspaper in Los Angeles.
La Raza La Raza is a Spanish newspaper and news website, published in Chicago, Illinois. It is a free newspaper distributed in Chicago and its metropolitan area, mostly directly to homes in Hispanic neighborhoods and also in street boxes and stores.
Latina Magazine Latina Magazine was the first of its kind – an authoritative voice for Latina women in the U.S. Today, Latina aims to be a space for the entire Latinx community, regardless of identity.
Latino Public Broadcasting Latino Public Broadcasting is the leader of the development, production, acquisition and distribution of non-commercial educational and cultural media that is representative of Latino people, or addresses issues of particular interest to Latino Americans.
Latino USA Futuro Media creates multimedia content for and about the new American mainstream in the service of empowering people to navigate the complexities of an increasingly diverse and connected world.
Telemundo Telemundo is an American Spanish-language television network.

Primary Sources

Spanish and Portuguese Exploration in America Delve into the Library of Congress' Primary Source Set on Hispanic Exploration.
Mexican American Migration and Communities Explore the Library of Congress' Primary Source Set on Mexican American Migrations and Communities.
Cuban Heritage Collection (CHC) Digital Collections Digital collections documenting Cuba and the Cuban diaspora from colonial times to the present. These materials include rare books and journals, as well as archival materials including documents, correspondence, photographs, maps, scrapbooks, audio, video, and oral histories.
New Mexico Folklife Project The New Mexico Folklife Project includes photographs, sound recordings, and field notes document the Hispanic art and artists at the American Folklife Center in the summers 1984 and 1985.
Primary Sources and Hispanic Heritage Month Explore Hispanic heritage resources offered through the Library of Congress' collection of primary sources.

Professional and Community Organizations

ASPIRA To empower the Puerto Rican and Latino community through advocacy and the education and leadership development of its youth.
Committee for Hispanic Children and Families The mission of CHCF is to combine education, capacity-building, and advocacy to strengthen the support system and continuum of learning for children and youth.
Hispanic American Police Command Officers Association HAPCOA’s mission is to “empower the future of law enforcement” by assisting law enforcement, criminal justice and community organizations nationwide in their efforts to recruit, train, mentor and promote qualified Hispanic American men and women committed to a career in the criminal justice arena and to communities in which they serve and protect.
Hispanic Heritage Foundation The Hispanic Heritage Foundation (HHF) is a nonprofit that identifies, inspires, prepares and positions Latino leaders in the classroom, community and workforce to meet America’s priorities.
Hispanic National Bar Association The Hispanic National Bar Association (HNBA) is a not-for-profit, nonpartisan, national membership organization that represents the interests of Hispanic legal professionals in the United States and its territories.
National Association of Hispanic Federal Executives The National Association of Hispanic Federal Executives identifies, cultivates and prepares Hispanics for advancement into the Senior Executive Service ranks.
National Association of Hispanic Journalists The National Association of Hispanic Journalists (NAHJ) is dedicated to the recognition and professional advancement of Hispanics in the news industry.
National Association of Hispanic Nurses National Association of Hispanic Nurses (NAHN) is devoted to promoting safe, quality health care delivery to Latino communities and individuals, and recognizing excellence among Latino nurses, providing formal and informal mentoring opportunities, and generally serving as a center of excellence for our members.
National Association of Hispanic Real Estate Professionals NAHREP advances sustainable Hispanic homeownership by educating and empowering the real estate professionals who serve Hispanic home buyers & sellers, advocating for public policy that supports the trade association’s mission and facilitating relationships among industry stakeholders, real estate practitioners and other housing industry professionals.
National Association of Latino Independent Producers NALIP’s mission is to discover, promote, and inspire Latinx content creators and diverse voices across all media platforms.
National Hispanic Council on Aging The National Hispanic Council on Aging (NHCOA) is the leading national organization working to improve the lives of Hispanic older adults, their families and their caregivers.
National Society of Hispanic Physicists The purpose of this society is to promote and recognize the accomplishments of Hispanic physicists within the scientific community, develop and support efforts to increase opportunities for Hispanics in physics and encourage Hispanic students to enter a career in physics.
Reforma American Library Association's affiliate REFORMA is committed to the improvement of the full spectrum of library and information services for the approximately 56.2* million Spanish-speaking and Latino people in the United States.
Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers SHPE is the nation’s largest association dedicated to fostering Hispanic leadership in the STEM field.

St. Louis Organizations

Hispanic Chamber of Commerce of Metropolitan St. Louis Hispanic Chamber attempts to strengthen Hispanic enterprise and small and minority business integration to promote a sustainable socioeconomic development and a better quality of life in the St. Louis region.
The Hispanic Leaders Group of Greater St Louis The Hispanic Leaders Group promotes and supports the advancement of our vibrant Hispanic community through networking, education and advocacy to foster harmony and diversity in the greater St. Louis region.
Puerto Rican Society, Inc. of St. Louis Our Mission: “To represent and uphold Puerto Rican values and culture while supporting education and other charitable pursuits”

Hispanic Heritage Month

Hispanic Heritage Month - National Archives Explore online resources that celebrate achievements and contributions of Hispanic American champions who have inspired others to achieve success.
Hispanic Heritage Month - National Park Service During this month and throughout the year, the National Park Service and our partners, share history, heritage, and accomplishments of Hispanic and Latino Americans of past and present.
National Hispanic Heritage Month A collaborative project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and U.S. National Archives and Records Administration.

Hispanic Heritage @ SWIC Library

Hispanic Americans reflect on immigration, culture, and identity.

Meet the The Dream 9. They took activism around youth immigration farther than it had ever been taken before. What they were doing was not only risky but difficult.

18 Latino Superstars you need to know. Latino USA takes a look at these household names and their lasting legacies.

Welcome to Hispanic Heritage Month @ SWIC Library!

From September 15 through October 15, the library is featuring a collection of items that recognize, acknowledge and celebrate the histories, cultures, and contributions of American citizens whose ancestors came from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean, Central and South America.

Videos to watch and share.

Scroll down to Web Resources for Hispanic American Arts & Culture, Business & Employment, Civil Rights & Political Participation, Facts & Figures, Health & Wellness, History, Literature, Media, Primary Sources, Professional & Community and St. Louis Organizations.

Gallery - Browse & Request Books @ SWIC Library

Web Resources

Arts & Culture

Business and Employment

Civil Rights and Political Participation

Facts and Figures

Health and Wellness

History

Literature

Media

Primary Sources

Professional and Community Organizations

St. Louis Organizations

Hispanic Heritage Month