Major Collections:
Library of Congress Digital Collections Historic photographs, presidential papers, and more from the Library of Congress (migrated from the American Memory project)
Reconstruction and Rights Most of the documents in this section are related to the right to vote and how voting actually occurred in Southern states. Other rights are also discussed in some of the documents.
The Travails of Reconstruction In passing civil rights legislation and the Fourteenth and Fifteenth Amendments to the U.S. Constitution, the Republican Congress was attempting, for the first time in history, to create a truly interracial democracy.
New York paper from 1841-1902
Selection of digitized newspapers covering a period ranging from 1836 to 1922
Translations of Chicago ethnic newspapers from 1861-1938
19th century women's magazine; some years may be missing
Correspondence, scientific notebooks, journals, blueprints, articles, and photographs documenting the life of Bell
Digitized collection includes correspondence, writings by Kelley and other material
Transcriptions of articles, essays, editorials dealing with the McKinley assassination in 1901
Transcribed articles and speeches by Sanger
Over 5,000 digitized items, including photographs, cartoons, newspaper articles, and diary entries
Correspondence and other material dealing with the inventor from 1847 to 1897
Correspondence and other papers of the aviation pioneers primarily dating from 1900 to 1940; part of American Memory
Selections of letters, articles, images and more documenting Buffalo Bill
Diaries and letters from 1834-1893 of the 19th president of the United States.
Congressional records from the Continental Congress through the 43rd Congress, 1774-1875
Compilation of state department documents covering foreign relations from Lincoln through Eisenhower
More than 1,000 images mostly from the late 19th and early 20th centuries
Collection of clippings, pamphlets, photographs and other material
The NAWSA Collection consists of 167 books, pamphlets and other artifacts documenting the suffrage campaign. Part of American Memory.
More than 700 photographs especially of the 1913 International Woman Suffrage Alliance (IWSA) Congress
More than 400 digitized photographs dating primarily from 1913 to 1922
Digitized books, photographs, manuscript collections and more with a focus on the 19th century
Collection of photos, letters (most in Norwegian) and other material dating from the mid-19th to early 20th centuries
Over 9,000 images of early advertising
Collection of manuscripts, artifacts, broadsides, photographs, and prints dealing with the 1886 strike
Collection of excerpts of letters, testimonials, and journalism about the triangle shirt waist fire
Collection of manuscripts, books, and photographs
Digitized collection of books, pamphlets, government documents, manuscripts, photographs and other material
Digital collection of books and magazines dealing with home economics from 1850 to 1950
Collection of trial narratives from U.S., British, and Irish cases from 1815-1915.