Major Collections:
Internet Archive - The Internet Archive is a hub for digitized audio, video, books, and ephemera. The Wayback Machine archives older versions of webpages.
Digital Public Library of America - DPLA is a major portal to digitized collections ranging "from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science" that illustrate America's history & culture
Milstone Documents - navigation: scroll down to Postwar United States
Image: 1950s era civil defense film
Digitized version of the NAACP magazine from 1910 to the present
Nov 1951 through 2008 available online through Google Magazines.
Issues from 1936 to 1972 available online through Google Magazines
Drew Pearson's syndicated column published between 1932 and 1969
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: Contemporary Era (1976-2000s) - browse primary sources by time period and subject
Documents, images, speeches and more from the Clinton Presidential Library
Collections of documents such as Cabinet meeting minutes, National Security memoranda and selected Vietnam War documents
Growing project to digitize archival material in the Kennedy Presidential Library
Almost 800 hours of audio of mostly phone conversations between 1963-1968
Digitized archive of more than 160,000 hours of Congressional hearings, White House briefings and more dating back to 1987
Digitized collection of CRS reports from the mid-1970's through the present—covering a variety of topics from agriculture to foreign policy to welfare
Government Printing Office collection of more contemporary (mid 1990s onward) legislative and executive documents including the Federal Register, Public Papers of the President and more
Compilation of state department documents covering foreign relations from Lincoln through Eisenhower
Compilation of state department documents from the Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon and Ford administrations
Digitized collection of more than 150 comics; majority published by the federal government and others from the UN and state governments
Official papers and speeches from Hoover through Clinton
Documents and images which chronicle events surrounding this historically significant case up to the present
Major collection: documents, video, oral histories and more documenting the civil rights movement
Collections from the Library of Congress related to Civil Rights
Truman administration documents dealing with the desegregation of the military in the late 1940s
Digital collection includes newspaper clippings, oral histories, correspondence and more from the summer of 1964
Proviodes complete electronic record of United States Commission on Civil Rights publications.
Photographs taken by LIFE magazine covering various stories from the civil rights movement.
Collections of documents and news clips from television from 1950-1970
Oral history collection
Collection of oral histories, photographs, letters and more
A series of interviews conducted in concert with Spokane newspaper The Spokesman-Review's "Through Spokane's Eyes Moments in Black History."
Includes approximately 125 oral history transcripts from North Carolina
Transcriptions of the complete interviews that were used in the documentary of the civil rights movement
"Transcripts document meetings and interviews with civil rights workers in the South recorded by several Stanford students affiliated with the campus radio station KZSU during the summer of 1965."
Collection of more than 200 oral histories from a number of Southern oral history programs
Collection of interviews from the mid-1960s with civil rights leaders such as Malcolm X, Martin Luther King and others related to the 1965 Robert Penn Warren book
Collection of oral histories, photographs, letters and more
Collects "primary sources from the collections of the State Library and Archives of Florida"about the civil rights struggle
"This digital collection presents primary sources from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Libraries and the Wisconsin Historical Society that provide a window onto Milwaukee’s civil rights history."
Documents, oral histories, and other primary sources about the civil rights era in Seattle
Photos and interviews related to the Selma March and other civil rights events
Collection of "archival resources documenting the modern civil rights era in Greensboro, North Carolina, from the 1940s to the early 1980s."
Digital archive of materials that documents the Civil Rights era in Memphis, Tennessee
Texts and other material that document the "controversy (1949-1951) that roiled the University during the McCarthy Era"
Formerly declassified Cold War documents
Collection of documents dealing with the Cold War; some translated, others in the vernacular
GWU archive of national security declassified government documents.
Documents including daily accounts from the Truman Presidential Library
62 "documents related to the armistice negotiations from the period of 1951 to 1953"
More than 600 leaflets created by American forces and distributed in Korea during the war
Oral history interviews of American veterans from WWI to the present; also includes other primary material.
Interviews with veterans from WWII, Korea, Vietnam, conflicts in the Middle East, and other veterans and civilians
Documents of the official Army investigation into the My Lai massacre
Fulltext collection of the declassified 1967 report officially titled "Report of the Office of the Secretary of Defense Vietnam Task Force"
Oral history interviews of American veterans from WWI to the present; also includes other primary material.
Includes many cartoons pertaining to the Vietnam War
Major collection: 2.7 million pages of material dealing with the war from the US perspective
Archive of tv news from Sept. 11-13, 2001.
A collection of declassified and unclassified documents related to the September 11th attacks.